Have I Captured Nessie!

in Dronelast year

If you've ever thought about Scotland at all, does the idea of a beach ever enter your head? Probably not? When filming or photographing landscapes or seascapes it can be difficult to find a point of interest. It's a good idea to try to find a story within the story. What will bring this landscape to life?

Embo Beach Rugged Rocks


24th August 2022

We often think of Scotland as rugged mountains and fantastic lochs of which it has an abundance but also one of those lochs may contain a monster. The famous Loch Ness Monster.

Scotland also has many beautiful beaches. I was on a fabulous beach in Scotland near a tiny village called Embo in Dornoch getting some cinematic video footage with my drone.

The area is known locally as Grannie's Heilan Hame (Highland Home) which is apparenty based on a song written in the 20th century by Thomas Sandy Macfarlane who imigrated to America.
Source

Embo Beach Scene Looking North

Flying up and down the beach near the shoreline was brilliant. Not a soul to be seen in miles and perfect flying conditions.

To be honest I didn't notice it at first as I was so engrossed by the fantastic scenery all around me.

Embo Beach Scene Looking South

I started filming the gulls sitting on the rocks by the oceans edge which was very cool as they were not disturbed by the drone at all. I'm flying a DJI Mini SE which is very quiet and at 40 altitude feet virtually silent.

Gulls Resting On The Rocks

As the drone flew down the beach I came across more gulls sitting resting on the shoreline rocks.

Colony of Gulls

Suddenly something caught my eye as I was passing over the rock formations and I wasn't quite sure what it was? Can you see it in the sea below left of centre?

What Is That?


I took the drone in for a closer look and was even more baffled by what I was seeing. I don't believe in monsters and we are miles from any loch?

Looks Like Nessie!


I pushed the drone closer to see what the heck this thing was. The tension was high. Had I finally caught a sea monster up close and with a high definition camera?

Here It Is Revealed


It's just an old pipe of some kind but it got my adrenaline flowing for sure.

It was an interesting day with some spectaular scenery and with the added excitement of almost capturing Nessie for real.

There are many sea creatures that we still have no clue about and it is possible that we may discover an actual living explanation for all those sightings of the Loch Ness Monster.
What do you think?

Embo Beach, Dornoch

The photograph above is of the Park Dean Holiday Camp near Embo where we were staycationing in a caravan. It has adopted the name Grannie's Heilan Hame for some reason?

It was a nice camp in the middle of nowhere. Just how I like it.
Even though it was August it was pretty cold and windy but it was fine.

We had plenty of sunshine and just enough wind free days to get some drone flying done which is always a consideration when drone flying.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed the story. Remember to share your drone photos with the community.

Sort:  

Good luck with future monster hunting. A drone should be ideal for finding them.

!PIZZA

Hi Steve, yep for a moment there I thought I had the photo of the century 😂 the drone is good for getting close to awkward places.

It's only a matter of time before someone gets a decent shot of these monsters. I know a lot of them are fakes or misidentified but weird things do show up occasionally.

Look at the Coelacanth a fish thought to be extinct 100's of millions of years ago. Still living in the murky depths of the oceans.

Wow! Stunning photos man. I'd be more amazed that Nessie is still alive haha. Wasn't it first "spotted" in the 1930's?

Thanks Ade, Scotland is magnificent and worth a visit if you haven't been there yet?

It might have been Nessie's grandchild? 😂👍🏼

The more I zoom in on your cover photo, the more angry you appear 🤣

Nice post mate and some great drone shots too

Haha that's my natural resting face. It's the focus of a ninja 😂👍🏼
Glad you enjoyed the photographs. One day I'll get Nessie 💯🎥😂👍🏼

Lol didn't notice until pointed out. Now that is some "serious" drone flying lol.

😂😂💯👍🏼catching Nessie is a serious business lol

Nessie! A beautiful place to be!

Hello Mel, long time no see. I just started posting again after a pretty long rest. I'll catch up with what everyone is doing. 👍🏼

It's always good to see something new from you!

Great shots of the beach! I'm heading up there in May and I can't wait.

It is stunning. The landscape is out of this world. I will be going back up to scotland for sure. Have a great trip.

an old pipe

LOL!

😂😂👍🏼

Hi @molometer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks @teamuk for your continued support as always it is much appreciated.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple for the work you do and your support. It is very much appreciated.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(2/5) tipped @molometer (x1)

Join us in Discord!