You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Evolution of edged tools results in G-dog's MUT

in Knives4 years ago

I was on FB a while back, a couple years now but never posted anything. I used it to keep up with a few things I'm interested in. I decided to get rid of it though, just didn't see the point any longer. Best thing I ever did.

Sort:  

I'm close. I just have a lot of very valuable memories n my facebook page of the kid. Probably keep my page as is as a reminder of who i was. but not post to it anymore. Hive is so much better.

 4 years ago  

It's so difficult for people to get rid of FB, I guess because the habit it forms. I don't see it as overly healthy, I mean for those who can't go 3 seconds without posting something or checking it. There's a whole word out there if only people look up from their phone. The other thing is...Since when do people think others actually five a fuck about what they do every minute of the day? I couldn't care less, and so it wasn't hard for me to dispose of it. Sure, it helps people keep up with others, but there's other, more secure ways to do so where one's information isn't stolen. Yep, hive is way better.

I concur. Like i said i just check three or four friends on facebook. Keep up with the australia frangipani society. Australia amateur astronomy and my own private aerospace forum.

Im about to delete about 75 percent of my "friends" on facebook. Only people that are or have bern close to me stay. Im tired of people i font care about bragging and i dont want to hear peoples political vitriol all day.

 4 years ago  

The sad thing is it could be such a great thing, but Zuckerberg has warped it into something else altogether. It's such a negative place in my mind and has changed the way people think and act, mostly for the negative as you allude to.

You know, I saw a doco on it and they interviewed the guy that invented the endless feed...When asked if he regrets it he gave a firm yes. Interesting to note that he also said he, and many other execs, banned their family from using FB. Says it all really. It was a great documentary that everyone on FB should watch.

Ive seen that doco. It was revealing. Its also proven to be addictive and bad for your mental well being

 4 years ago  

Yep, it was very interesting for sure: The tests they did about mobile phone usage and addiction...A bit scary.

Rewires the brain in a bad way. Dopamine is one thing. But worse is the social conditioning that comes from yelling in a opinion echo chamber.