You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Evolution of edged tools results in G-dog's MUT

in Knives4 years ago

Yeah, I think I've see some of the later bayonets that one would attach to a modern rifle, if that's even something that's done anymore. They do look more like combat knives stuck on the barrel, though I guess with how battles are fought these days, one might never use something stabby for that much.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Rifle-mounted bayonets are a bit redundant these days as combat tends to happen from greater distance. Knives are a thing though, and with particular branches of the military get well-used in certain circumstances. There was a time though when bayonets were an integral element of combat.

If I remembered correctly, the last proper bayonet charge was during the Falklands War. The Brits (specifically the Highlander regiments, I believe) charged straight at the Argentinians with the FALs and bayonets. Staring down modern semi-automatic rifles while running across a field must've been a petrifying experience.

 4 years ago  

One of my mates was a British Royal Marine and fought in the Falklands war. He fell out of a helicopter just prior to being inserted onto the battlefield. Had to fight off the enemy alone, stepped on a land mine and lost his leg...Kept fighting. He's a tough fucker.

The rest of the unit fast-roped down and joined the fight. Saved his life.

He's struggling now, after all these years, with the leg issue - Just having a new prosthetic made now. Good bloke though, fun to hang out with.

A bayonet charge isn't my idea of fun, I'll tell you that much.

Sounds like quite a tale, and a tough bastard. War is hell, no way to get around that, and I doubt anyone ever comes back home from war feeling normal. At least your mate did make it back, and hopefully gradually getting better.

 4 years ago  

Coming back from war feeling normal isn't really a thing although it can depend on what one goes through when deployed. My mate has a very small tolerance for fools, noisy people, kids, people who talk to much...Most people really. But he's a good mate and we have a laugh when we're hanging out; Loads of good stories get lied about.

It's nice to hear one's laughter, especially after having gone through harrowing experiences. I don't think I've ever sat down with a vet, and hearing out their stories. I'm always intrigued to hear their tales.

 4 years ago  

Time spent with a military veteran who saw active service is often time well spent.