ONE OF MY EXPERIENCES IN BENUE

Hello guys. How have the week gone so far. I am @ernesto6402, and I will be bringing you a very crucial event that occurred during my stay in Benue State as an NYSC corp member. In one of my previous TBT post, I brought you guys a sensitisation program I carried out as a CDS president. Just like I have already stated in that post, there are series of sensitisation that was carried out by my CDS with me being their leaders. Today, I will be bringing us another one of these sensitisation program. Just journey with me as I shear this memorable event with you.

IMG-20230915-WA0012.jpg

A general picture with the primary school students

It was a Friday, and Fridays are for our weekly CDS meetings. We have already planned it all out, after our meeting we shall be going for a sensitisation. Among all the sensitisation we have carried out, this is the first that had to do with a school. On that very day, our aim was to sensitise the kids on the need for education. Despite being a little town, the people of Abinsi do not value education that much. Many of the locals prefer to allow their children room around the streets of the community instead of sending them to school. Due to the fact that many parents fail to pay attention to their children's education, many children who are opportuned to be in school fail to take their education serious. Going to school for them is just to fulfil all righteousness. Having found ourselves in such an environment, we felt the need to help out the little way we can as corp members and as graduates.

IMG-20230916-WA0036.jpg

Emmanuel (the DOS) addressing the primary section

On that very day, we left imidiately after our CDS meeting to CRC-N Primary and Secondary School. Apart from "Anya Capitol Hills" which is located at 2000km after Abinsi town, CRC-N is the best School in the whole of Abinsi council ward. It was our best shot, and we just had to take it. Having given the school prior notice, we got to the school premises at about 9am. To make our job more effective, we splitted ourselves into two. While some attended to the primary section of the school, I and the others faced the secondary section. Our mission here is to instruct the children on the need for education. Their is already an existing ideology in the community, and we must do all that is in our power to eradicate it.

IMG-20230922-WA0050.jpg

I, the secondary school section and some of my fellow corp members

For the secondary section, teachers helped us to gather all of children in a class, every lecture was suspended and we were given maximum attention. Our major exercise was motivation, we aimed giving them reasons to take education seriously. Giving them examples of prominent success people who probably would have not gotten to their level if not for education, we charged them to read their books as often as possible, listen to their teachers in class and do all that is in their power to ensure that the labour of their parents who pay their school fee do not go in vain.

I only took charge of the secondary school section while Emmanuel, the director of social (DOS) anchored the primary school section. We rounded up at about 10:30am, took some pictures (for documentation purposes) and went to our verious place of accomodation. With the way the children payed attention to every of our speech, many of them must have certainly learnt a lot from us on that very day. We also got amazing questions from the secondary section, with the questions we were satisfied and convinced that we have had an impact. It was an amazing day for me, a day I will forever remember...

IMG-20230922-WA0045.jpg

Miss Kofo organising the primary section for pictures

Sort:  

I think those photographs for documentation purposes have reached Hive 😅 Brother, it's nice to see what they did to motivate so many children to study. We never know the future of each person, but being prepared from a young age is key to guaranteeing a better future. This activity they did is noble and beautiful... Please when you tell stories from the past say the dates, I know you did it last week, but saying the year or season helps us create an atmosphere, plus it confirms that this is an ancient event that is the reason for it. the community ❤️ Excellent post my friend,thanks for posting on #tbt Thursdays 🙏🏽


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions posts!

Comment Footer.jpg
Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

😄
I am to give a report to the Local Government Inspector every month, the pictures are to be part of my report. And they really important as they are our main evidence. But they finally ended up serving more purpose than

Thank you so much for the corrections @jesuslnrs, I really appreciate your continues support

Wow you did your service in Benue state, Benue state is not that far from my place
That's beautiful boss
Thanks for sharing

Wow. Which state are you from the?

You are such an good person.stay blessed.

Corper wee
What a throwback and memory, thanks for serving your father's land.

That show that you are a Nigerian😀
Thank you so much bro, I really appreciate your kind words