Take me back to 2017.

in Throwback Thursday24 days ago (edited)

My 19-year-old cousin is going for an interview where he would get his first major gig that would propel him forward in his quest to become a globally recognized basketball player. All our family members that were aware of the imminent success are happy and are looking forward to the great news of him getting selected, and his parents are about to have their first big breakthrough through their first child.

In the spirit of preparation, prayers and practice became his daily routine and all of us, even though we couldn’t play basketball with him prayed fervently that it became a success.

One of our family members had a dream one day that something fatal happened. He fervently prayed and asked every one of us to pray so that the looming fire will not burn any of our family members trying to achieve greatness. So, we prayed and prayed and prayed while my cousin kept practicing.

The D-day finally was three days away, so his mum and him are on their way to Abuja for an interview with his soon-to-be coach. They are now in a hotel where the mum wouldn’t stop smiling and thanking God for the success in advance. He smiled too and kept telling his mum not to worry that everything would be fine. He is a very good basketball player and a very tall man anyway, so, he would be accepted. His mum all smiles, slept.

They are now awake and are on their way to the interview location. The soon-to-be-coach sighted my cousin and wouldn’t stop staring because he has never seen a man tall as that in his entire life. He instructed my cousin to demonstrate his skill, and he did. The coach was wowed and told them he would reach out in the next three days.

Three days later, the letter got delivered to my cousin’s doorstep and he was excited because as a 19-year-old boy, his earnings were about to be in six figures. His mum couldn’t stop thanking God for the success. Everyone jubilated and celebrated the latest champ in the family.

It’s 2024, and his family are balling, travelling the world, and enjoying every bit of it. His mum especially expanded her tailoring business, got better, employed more hands and lived large as the mum of the world’s greatest basketball player.

But… these never happened.

When I watched the movie, The Adam project, I was enthralled by the happenings that I wished could happen in real life. Time travel to the future, correct some looming errors, put things in place, then return to the present so that by the time I get to my future in real life, it would be easier to get going. But then, fiction it is.

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-23 at 08.43.15 (1).jpeg

If it could happen in real life that I am able to time travel, 2017 would be the year I would go back to, so that I can take over the wheel from the sleepy bus driver that rammed into the bamboo-filled truck parked at the road side and causing the death of my beloved cousin. He would have been a very fine basketball player today, representing his country and a lot of coaches would’ve been trying to win him over to their team because of how skilled he was, but sadly, he never even got to see the result of the interview he did.

He was involved in a fatal accident on his way back home after a successful interview with his mum, and he died instantly. His mum couldn’t continue her tailoring business because she had a fractured leg. And the interview result came right in on the way we buried him.

Can time travel just be a real thing so that we can bring back our loved ones? But there won’t be any major event to throw back to after all, so, we just move on and share the happenings, both happy and sad as throwbacks instead.

The first picture is my cousin and the second picture is him with his peers.

This is my entry to the #inleo prompt for may with the topic time travel, asynchrony, and major events. You can join here

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @storygoddess! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Haaa. You want to make me cry again. I refuse to cry! I am a man.

What’s touching story. I thought everything was fine for him from the beginning not until the twist of fate happened. That’s so sad and painful.

Hopefully if we could turn back the hands of time, then a lot of thing needed to be done.

You keep getting better with your writing. Haha. I dey feel you. 😝

Thank you ooo. I want to time travel to 2017 so bad so I can change things... But, it is what it is.

Thanks for the encouragement, brother. ❤️❤️

Yeah. It is what it is. Life goes on.

But, you can cry in my DM anyways. It's allowed. 🙃

Me? Cry in a lady dm? I better cry in public 😂

Lol. Life's not hard at all. 😂

Wao
This is a great throwback
I also love sports though football ⚽ majorly and basketball 🏀 aswell.
Kudos bro

I guess you didn't read to the end. 🥲

Oh!
Had to re-read it and now gotten the full story.
Sorry about the loss.
'Wish we could turn back the hands of time indeed.

It's okay. Thank you.

Let’s go back to 2017 together. 😂 and sorry you had to lose someone special to you, I understand the pain.

Thank you. You'll be handy as a rescue buddy.

I'm so glad you used Throwback Thursday as a platform to let your creativity flow and participate in InLeo activities, I really enjoyed the story and seeing these pictures of your cousin. Life is very strange, but I have learned that everything happens for a reason. Thanks for being here, I appreciate it very much 🙏

Everything does happen for a reason. Thank you very much for the kind comment.