Spoon!

in Art.24 days ago (edited)

DSC_0011.JPG

How gloriously beautiful, unique and happy-making is this magnificent spoon?

DSC_0006.JPG

It is all the more special because of where it came from, how it was sourced, who carved it and the way that they approached its creation, and how it was gifted to me by this new and most-treasured friend.

DSC_0009.JPG

I've been blessed to have met a series of really wonderful folks these past few months, who have been on Workaway visits to Guardia Sanframondi - and whose paths have crossed mine in the most co-creative and celebratory way... If you don't know about Workaway, it's a great networking site for folks travelling the world, to connect with hosts of all kinds of properties who need help of various kinds. I've used it over the years to get practical help with my chopping wood and carrying water, plumbing and electrics, and the general maintenance of my medieval Italian abode - and though it can be a little hit-and-miss at times, for the most part it's an easy way to have an informal arrangement with enthusiastic volunteers, who want to experience a more authentic immersion in a culture, language and community.

DSC_0010.JPG

The most recent guests that I enjoyed communing with - and from whom I was gifted this gorgeous utensil - were taking care of a neighbour's cats and house, and we when I heard them speaking English walking in front of my house. We soon became close friends, and their month here involved multiple adventures, celebrations, and collaborative projects in my house and gardens. As well as some lovely sewing sessions, tea parties and one random dramatic pub crawl (!) I donated various particular pieces of natural and manmade materials towards their efforts in the neighbour's house and their private creative passions... We then exchanged food, beverages, healing and crafting wisdom - and tools and materials - the most significant of which was this great lump of (probably) chestnut that had been taken out of a bizarre wall feature in my Arthouse cellar.

DSC_0014.JPG
the bizarre wall feature in my Arthouse cellar - minus the lump of wood which became the spoon!

The lump of wood had been sitting there for a month or two since I had a not-so-successful visit from a Workawayer, who nevertheless managed to wrangle this blessed piece of timber out of its prominent position in the corner of the room (think it had been used historically to block up an old chimney) - so I can now finish that corner off with some cement and stucco.

DSC_0015.JPG
DSC_0016.JPG
DSC_0017.JPG
the lump of wood was similar to this one: very munched-on at one side, but beautifully solid within, perfect for utensil making!

When I saw that Madeleine made spoons, I offered her the possibility of using this piece, if she were able to make anything from it. She showed me her beautiful tools that she carries with her when travelling - even though she and her partner are on bicycle across Europe! It was really wonderful to talk with her about the true Art. of woodworking, and of allowing the shape of a spoon to come out of the shape of the natural waves of the wood. We had some gorgeous discussions around creativity and spontaneity, working with our hands on natural materials, and feeling fulfilled as creators. This was so very affirming to me, having been isolated a lot in all the decades I've worked as a (mostly unpaid and unrewarded!) intuitive creative - and in recent years and month feeling like I need affirmation that my insinctual energetic approach is Right!

IMG_20240327_153337.jpg
Madeleine's incredible spoons, currently travelling with her!!!

Though we talked about the process a lot, I didn't specifically observe Madeleine working on this spoon (and so it was all the more surprising to receive it), but was already really enthused about the spoons I'd seen of hers, and by sharing our mastery of slow workwomanship, of listening to the material, and of following how a crafted object 'wants' to appear...
She had also picked up a very interesting piece of old wood from a wood pile in the mountains which I did see in process, but it was clearly not shaping well, as it was too full of mould and cracks once it dried out... (it went to feed the fire!)

IMG_20240327_153319.jpg

The special one that I was gifted 'suddenly' appeared as if by magic and had me completely awed and wowed by its greatness: I hadn't been expecting such a special and laboured-over gift... It is precisely the kind of tool that I will treasure for a lifetime, and it even makes me feel that it has literally mystical properties of sisterhood, natural-skills-expandingness, healing and connection with my own home. I know it to be the most valuable kind of spoon that one could own: by and Art. creator for an Art. appreciator - created and gifted freely and meaningfully, from heart and hand to heart and hand. It was symbolic of all that we have shared this rich month of fun and play, exploration and learning, exchange and cultural intergifting.

DSC_0007.JPG

I love symbols like this of our loving each other in this challenging world. I said goodbye (for now!) to Jan and Madeleine this morning, as they bike off down the valley towards Napoli and the Amalfi coast - and the spoon kind of rings fondly of their beautiful faces, gestures, voices and stories - which have woven with mine for the past few weeks. I look forward to another time when I can cook a very blessed meal for them, and serve it with this glorious implement, and we can again pick up this most divine of friendships.

DSC_0008.JPG

The spoon will live in pride of place in my home and kitchen, and will be used regularly. It is the best and most hardy of spoons, and this will give it stamina to get through my rough handling, and all the home cooking that I do! I really like that I will be able to tell the story of where it came from, when I share meals with other friends here at the Arthouse.

IMG_20240327_153347.jpg

If you are similarly enamoured by this spoon, do reach out and I can give you Madeleine's contact to make you one; my friends are currently on their way to Sicilia by bicycle and will be returning north before the heat of summer sets in proper... I also hope to inspire Madeleine to join our creative communities on Hive, with this post! Jan is already here!

IMG_20240327_153437.jpg

With love,

Clare.signed.JPG

www.claregaiasophia.com

IMG_20200526_115910.jpg

Sort:  

What a beautiful gift you have received, and not just the spoon. Those chance meetings with people that turn out to be part of your tribe are as much a treasure as the fabulous spoon that now graces your kitchen. Even the telling of the tale was beautiful!

You are so right, and it is beautiful to be connected more and more, and more deeply too, with folks like us who can appreciate what is meaningful in Life! Thanks for this great comment, dear @tamaralovelace !!

Nice pictures

Thanks for saying so, @johnubah !
Good day to you 😎

What a blessing just hearing English voices passing by your house and finding the perfect match! I dream about this situation.

Thank you for sharing this marvellous spoon with us Clare! Honestly i am so inspired by this i may just start looking for wood and try my hand at carving now.

Awesome stuff ☀️

I love that this inspired you dear @samstonehill !! Yey to mutual co-creation and super-inspiring each other... Aye! Madeleine and Jan were and are an incredible boon to our community, and to my own path-in-creative-outpouring here... Here's to our continuing to find these great connections!
Cannot wait to hear about your spoon-making adventures!

😍