You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Favourite Travel Destinations. A yourtop3 contest entry for September.

Holy smokes, it's another Gaz special! Wow, the stories you have from the opening honourable mentions are insane! I'm glad the guy on Koh Lipe made it through but something you'll never forget I'm sure, what a bunch of heroes you first aiders are!

“it was a plastic bag from the other boat!” Needless to say I had a lot to learn in my Scuba career!

Lol, if you set-up "Gaz Adventures", I'll be making sure I review your scuba diving excursions a little more thoroughly when you mention Manta Rays 😂

They lost 17-0 against Iran and most of the goals were scored with the head!

Ouch! That's a heavy defeat that puts our loss to Iceland in the Euros in to perspective! Still would have preferred to be a Maldivian 😜

We were in a complete funk and immediately started formulating a plan to escape the confines of our ‘normal’ life. It took 5 years and a change of career from banking to teaching from Jayne but we eventually did it.

I'm going to have to learn a few things about your steps taken! After travelling around for a few months last year, being back in the office job situation again was a bit of a flunk for me so hopefully, when all these travel restrictions are lifted, it will be possible to start exploring again!

To climb the great Alpe D’Huez has always been a very special goal and I’m very happy to say that I have accomplished this goal a number of times

You absolute madman! That is some achievement mate, must have felt on top of the world (literally) when you did it!

I'd probably be more inclined to hike around the Alps. We'd have loved to have gone to Verdan Gorge this year had it not been for coronavirus but we'll shelf that idea for now! And would probably have one of those wheels with engines I think to get to some spots haha!

I've not been to any of the places you listed here so I'm going to have to correct that for sure. Wouldn't mind playing some football matches against those Maldivians being a slightly taller, skinnier lad, I fancy my chances of burying a few headers in the top corner 😃

Thanks for sharing your epic journeys with us here mate! Leading by example! Puts my meager offering to shame this month haha!

You've done Captain Q proud!

Sort:  

Haha, the Manta/plastic bag debacle was a tad embarrassing. The instructor was cool about it though. I was so disappointed at not seeing one.

You wouldn't believe how good those lads were, Nicky. The heat have them an advantage over me but they were outstanding football players, regardless. They are crazy about footie, hence the multitude of pitches on tiny little islands.

That funk was absolutely genuine, btw. It really did seal our fate in regards to moving away and although, at times, it's been difficult, I don't regret it for a second.

I totally recommend (obviously) Aloe D'Huez to you mate. There are massive hiking opportunities among a huge amount of other activities. Just be prepared, whatever your choice of activity, to travel upwards! 😁