The arepazo, a charity event [SPA/ENG]

in Lifestyle21 days ago (edited)


photo_2024-04-21_21-15-09.jpg



Bienvenidos.jpg

ENGLISH

I admit that I had never participated in a charity event, let alone something like the arepazo. At first we called it that because we were asked to make arepas, but no, that is indeed its name "El arepazo".

This event fulfills our community service, here participated the vast majority of the careers that are in 5th quarter of IUTIRLA. The day began very early, I made the dough for my respective arepas, we had to make 5 each student and since there were so many careers, the food and drinks were plentiful. I spent a lot of time on the dough, I wanted it to be as perfect as possible, as well as its shape and size, as they were donated I felt I had to give my all, even with only 5 arepas. The experience of the preparation felt beautiful, they were for people in need and that's why I gave them so much love, so they could enjoy them to the fullest. It was more than just preparing a simple meal, it was not for my family or for me, it was for all those little people who needed it.

ESPAÑOL

Admito que nunca había participado en un acto de beneficencia, menos algo como el arepazo. Al inicio lo llamamos así porque nos pidieron hacer arepas, pero no, efectivamente ese es su nombre “El arepazo”.

Este evento cumple con nuestro servicio comunitario, aquí participaron la gran mayoría de las carreras que se encuentran en 5to trimestre del IUTIRLA. El día comenzó bien temprano yo haciendo la masa para mis respectivas arepas, nos tocó hacer 5 cada estudiante y al ser tantas carreras pues fue abundante la comida y bebida. Le dediqué mucho tiempo a la masa, quería que fuera lo más perfecta posible, al igual que su forma y tamaño, al ser donadas me pareció que debía dar todo de mí, así fueran con solo 5 arepas. La experiencia de la preparación se sintió bonita, fueron para personas necesitadas y por eso les di tanto amor, para que las disfrutaran al máximo. Fue algo más que preparar simple comida, no era ni para mi familia ni para mí, era para toda aquella personita que lo necesitaba.


photo_2024-04-21_21-15-04.jpg

photo_2024-04-21_21-15-00.jpg

photo_2024-04-21_21-14-50.jpg

Divisor.png

After finishing everything, I got dressed, sunscreen, umbrella and good attitude. Arriving at the meeting area a square in my city, for the start of the event if it was somewhat disastrous, my university usually does this kind of thing, the bad organization is notorious, it was supposed to bring awnings and some tables, but it was not. We had to put things in places near the statue in the square and cover ourselves with the shade of the trees, two careers have the same color shirt, Design and Advertising use the black color and you can imagine the sun we had to endure due to the lack of awnings.

Leaving that aside, the activity flowed well, people came and we gave them their respective arepitas with juice or coffee, depending on their preference. At the beginning there was a talk to start everything and that's when the people arrived, and then we had to move around a bit to look for those people who needed that breakfast. Walking from there to here made me a little dizzy, having the umbrella and everything I felt a little exhausted so I went to sit down and helped to distribute from the point of concentration.

Al terminar todo, me arreglé, protector solar, sombrilla y buena actitud. Al llegar a la zona de encuentro una plaza de mi ciudad, para el inicio del evento si fue un tanto desastroso, mi universidad suele hacer este tipo de cosas, la mala organización es notoria, se supone llevarían toldos y algunas mesas, pero no fue así. Nos tocó poner las cosas en lugares cerca de la estatua de la plaza y cubrirnos con la sombra de los árboles, dos carreras tienen el mismo color de camisa, Diseño y Publicidad usan el color negro y se podrán imaginar el sol que tuvimos que soportar por la falta de toldos.

Dejando eso de lado, la actividad fluyó bien, la gente se acercó y les dimos sus respectivas arepitas con jugo o café, dependiendo de su preferencia. Al inicio hubo una charla para iniciar todo y allí fue que llegaron las personas, ya luego tuvimos que movernos un tanto de lugar para buscar a aquellas personas que necesitaran ese desayuno. El caminar de allá para acá me mareo un poco, teniendo la sombrilla y todo igual me sentí medio agotada así que me fui a sentar y ayudé a repartir desde el punto de concentración.


photo_2024-04-21_21-14-46.jpg

photo_2024-04-21_21-14-57.jpg

photo_2024-04-21_21-14-53.jpg

photo_2024-04-21_21-36-59.jpg

photo_2024-04-21_21-37-02.jpg


Divisor.png

The experience was beautiful, the joy of the people, the infinite thanks they gave us and the blessings they said to us, it was all very nice. Like everything, there were people who let's say... they didn't need the food and simply took it away, there was a man who took the food from my friend's hands and left, there was not even a thank you, he accused me of anger, but as it was to donate the food we didn't say anything. At the end of the event people came asking about the charity event and if we could give them an arepa, they had already run out and we gave them a drink, I remembered the people who took the food without having the need, just because it was free and it made me more angry, I do not want to complain, but it is that it is inevitable. I was left with the beauty of the experience and to see the joy of those people, from seniors to youth and children, if I felt sadness in some cases.

I hope you like the pictures, I got so much sun that day that the next morning I fainted from sunstroke and low blood pressure, but I am still happy for every moment of that day. I'll read you later, I'm finishing my midterms so you won't see much of me here. Greetings.

La experiencia fue bonita, la alegría de la gente, las gracias infinitas que nos daban y las bendiciones que nos decían fue todo muy bonito. Como todo, hubo gente que digamos… no necesitaban de la comida y simplemente se las llevaron, hubo un señor que le arrancó la comida a mi amiga de las manos y se fue, ni un gracias hubo, me acusó rabia, pero como era donar la comida no dijimos nada. Al final del evento llegó gente preguntando por el acto benéfico y si podíamos obsequiarles una arepa, ya se habían acabado y les dimo fue bebida, recordé la gente que se llevó la comida sin tener la necesidad, solo por ser gratis y me causó más rabia, no me quiero quejar, pero es que me es inevitable. Me quedó con lo bonito de la experiencia y de ver la alegría de aquellas personas, desde adultos de tercera edad hasta jóvenes y pequeños, si sentí tristeza en algunos casos.

Espero les gusten las fotos, agarré tanto sol ese día que en la mañana del siguiente me desmayé por insolación y baja tensión, pero sigo alegre por cada momento de ese día. Nos leemos luego, estoy terminando mis parciales así que me verán poco aquí. Saludos.


Divisor.png


Gracias.jpg



Text translated at DeepL translate
Image edited by me in Polish
images of my property