Carpentry work with little children [ENG/SWE]

in Lifestyle8 months ago

After days of procrastination, I finally settled on working on a table I wanted to enclose with a wooden board and converting it into a small cupboard to be used in the kitchen.

I have the idea to work on it myself, but I needed a more professional hand to make it easier so I wouldn't end up wasting the whole of the day on it, so I put a call to one of our street guys that does all manners of work. He responded and promised to come within 1 hour, and the 1 hour promised by him, extended to four hours (I called him around 9:00 a.m.).

He came around 1:00 p.m. with many excuses, and I didn't blame him because that's what Africa time can do.

I showed him what to do with good descriptions; he nodded and made his quotations, which I provided him instantly because I already knew what would be needed.

He brought out his tools and began to work while I stood beside him to help him hold planks, a hammer, and nails. I was just there as a supervisor, watching the work, telling him to do it the way I like, and of course, giving him good football gist, especially with how Chelsea have been walloped recently in the Premier League. He's a Chelsea fan.

He worked to an extent, and he requested that I get him snacks because he's hungry. I concurred. I walked to a shop and got him bread, a biscuit, and a Coca-Cola drink.

Upon returning, I met children playing in the space where he was working, and I had to caution the children from being pierced by nails on the ground. I begged them to live, but they adamantly refused, so I smartly moved them to a clearer sector and began to play with them to pull their minds off going to the working space.

As you can see, the boy is using the hammer to play; he's becoming a carpenter tool. Lol.

After the guy was done with the work, he helped me move it to the spot I wanted it to be. I paid him, and he left with his tools.

Did I mention that the work exhausted me the whole day? The simple work chopped off the whole of the day, and I couldn't do anything again for the rest of the day.

Thanks for reading.


All images are mine
Thumbnail designed on canva



SWE




Efter dagar av förhalande bestämde jag mig till slut för att arbeta på ett bord som jag ville omsluta med en träskiva och omvandla det till ett litet skåp som kan användas i köket.

Jag har idén att arbeta med det själv, men jag behövde en mer professionell hand för att göra det enklare så att jag inte skulle slösa bort hela dagen på det, så jag ringde till en av våra gatukillar som gör alla typer av arbete. Han svarade och lovade att komma inom 1 timme, och den 1 timme som han lovade förlängdes till fyra timmar (jag ringde honom runt 9:00 på morgonen).

Han kom runt kl. 13.00 med många ursäkter, och jag klandrade honom inte eftersom det är vad Afrika-tid kan göra.

Jag visade honom vad han skulle göra med bra beskrivningar; han nickade och gjorde sina offerter, som jag gav honom direkt eftersom jag redan visste vad som skulle behövas.

Han tog fram sina verktyg och började arbeta medan jag stod bredvid honom för att hjälpa honom att hålla i plankor, hammare och spikar. Jag var bara där som arbetsledare, tittade på arbetet, sa åt honom att göra det på det sätt jag ville och gav honom naturligtvis bra fotbollstips, särskilt med tanke på hur Chelsea nyligen har fått stryk i Premier League. Han är ett Chelseafan.

Han arbetade till viss del och han bad mig att ge honom snacks eftersom han var hungrig. Jag gick med på det. Jag gick till en affär och köpte bröd, en kexbit och en Coca-Cola-dryck åt honom.

När jag kom tillbaka mötte jag barn som lekte på platsen där han arbetade, och jag var tvungen att varna barnen så att de inte skulle bli genomborrade av spikar på marken. Jag bad dem att leva, men de vägrade bestämt, så jag flyttade dem smart till en tydligare sektor och började leka med dem för att få dem att sluta tänka på att gå till arbetsutrymmet.

Som du kan se använder pojken hammaren för att leka; han håller på att bli ett snickarverktyg. Lol.

När killen var klar med arbetet hjälpte han mig att flytta den till den plats jag ville ha den. Jag betalade honom och han åkte iväg med sina verktyg.

Nämnde jag att arbetet tröttade ut mig hela dagen? Det enkla arbetet tog hela dagen och jag kunde inte göra något mer på resten av dagen.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Sort:  

Children are always eager to join in when they see adults doing something important. At least they were able to have fun helping out in their own way.

Thanks for sharing.

#dreemerforlife

Yeaaah.
That's children for us.
Thank you for coming, ma

It's good you transformed it into something usable. I was hoping to see the finished work though
#dreemerforlife

This is really amazing!
African time can be so annoying, so we have a way to always lure them out. Maybe you want them to come around 2pm you tell them to come around 12am. At least you know how's going to be like. 😂😂
#dreemerforlife #dreemport

Hahaha😂
African time choke 😂

Thank you for stopping by