Viajar: un modo de vida// Traveling: a way of life

in Lifestylelast month

Since I turned 18, traveling has been part of my lifestyle, for that reason when I discovered this community, saw its rules and description, the word that first came to mind, beyond "literature" was TRAVEL .

Desde que cumplí los 18 viajar forma parte de mi estilo de vida, por ese motivo al descubrir esta comunidad, ver sus reglas y descripción, la palabra que primero me vino a la mente, más allá de "literatura" fue VIAJAR.

When I started at the University, in the first semester of the first year I immediately joined a scientific research group that obtained very good academic results and we went from one province to another exhibiting our work at scientific events and on expeditions, tracking new species of the family of aquatic beetles we were studying. These were my beginnings, although, prior to that stage I was already traveling a lot during the year, visiting my paternal family in the Sierra Maestra, one of the most important mountain systems that Cuba has.

Cuando comencé en la Universidad, en el primer semestre del primer año enseguida me asocié a un grupo de investigación científica que obtuvo muy buenos resultados académicos y nos la pasábamos de una provincia a otra exponiendo nuestros trabajos en eventos científicos y en expediciones, rastreando especies nuevas de la familia de escarabajos acuáticos que estudiábamos. Así fueron mis inicios, aunque, previo a esa etapa igual ya viajaba muchísimo durante el año, visitando a mi familia paterna en la Sierra Maestra, uno de los sistemas montañosos más importantes que tiene Cuba.

Traveling with friends is always much more fun. In general, several of the trips I have taken have been done with groups of colleagues, but I have had to do most of the trips alone and the truth is, I have also enjoyed them. These photographs that I show you today are from my most recent trip to the capital: Havana. Although this occasion was not exactly for fun, I always try to make the best of everything. I was going through legal procedures, but I didn't stop enjoying it despite the short stay.

Viajar con amigos siempre es mucho más divertido. Por lo general varios de los viajes que he hecho los he realizado con grupos de colegas, pero otra gran parte me ha tocado hacerlo sola y la verdad, también los he disfrutado. Estas fotografías que les muestro hoy son de mi viaje más reciente a la capital: La Habana. Aunque esta ocasión no fue precisamente por diversión, igual siempre intento sacarle el mejor provecho a todo. Andaba en trámites legales, pero, no dejé de disfrutar pese a la corta estadía.

The first thing I did when I arrived in the early morning was go with a couple of colleagues to the accommodation that I had already coordinated for them. I didn't have a guaranteed whereabouts yet, so I decided to try my luck in the same place they were going, and, with such good fortune, I managed to get accommodation for a fairly reasonable price. I waited there for a bit until they prepared my room and then they made me go up to the bedroom with everything ready.

Lo primero que hice cuando llegué en la madrugada fue ir junto con un par de colegas hacia el alojamiento que ya ellos tenían coordinado. Yo no tenía paradero garantizado aún, así que me lancé a probar suerte en el mismo sitio al que iban, y, con tan buenaventura logré hospedaje por un precio bastante módico. Ahí estuve esperando un poco hasta que me acondicionaran la habitación y luego me hicieron subir al dormitorio con todo listo.

The room was perfect, just what was needed and even more. It was shared, but I was alone during the weekend of my stay, which I appreciated. It is not a hostel for all types of users. It had three beds, I chose the one closest to the dresser and the exit. It also had a minibar, air conditioning, and clean, smelly bedding and quilts.

La habitación estaba perfecta, justo lo necesario y hasta más. Era compartida, pero estuve sola durante el fin de semana que duró mi estadía, lo cual agradecí. No es un hostal para todo tipo de usuarios. Tenía tres camas, escogí la más próxima a la cómoda y a la salida. También contaba con un minibar, aire acondicionado y ropa de cama y colchas limpias y olorosas.

I tried to rest a little, but in the end I barely slept, I had too many things on my mind, pending tasks to do. "Shopping", I had to make some purchases of products that are more difficult to find in my city. So I showered and dressed heading to the store at the Hotel Nacional in Havana, a majestic building with beautiful architecture to which I have already dedicated a few posts. There I got what I was looking for, a shea cream for the face and body, it's a delight, and a bottle of hair gel. My child has long, curly hair and this suits him very well. I also got some other quality cosmetic products at a very good price.

Intenté descansar un poco, pero, al final apenas dormí, tenía demasiadas cosas en la cabeza, tareas pendientes por hacer. "Compras", debía hacer algunas compras de productos que en mi ciudad son más difíciles de conseguir. Así que me bañé y me vestí para salir rumbo a la tienda del Hotel Nacional de La Habana, un edificio majestuoso con una arquitectura preciosa a la cual ya he dedicado algunos post. Allí conseguí lo que andaba buscando, una crema de karité para el rostro y el cuerpo, es una delicia, y un pomo de gel para el pelo. Mi niño usa el cabello largo y crespo y esto le viene muy bien. Además conseguí algunos otros productos cosméticos de calidad a muy buen precio.

Then I returned to the accommodation having had a snack on the way. I preferred to eat lightly for lunch to leave food for the night. I don't like to eat anything other than hot food at regular times. As the afternoon progressed I studied a little, as I had already mentioned, I had a lot to do that weekend, and on Monday afternoon I already had the next Master's conference.

Luego regresé al alojamiento habiendo merendado algo en el trayecto. Preferí comer ligero en el almuerzo para dejar la comida para la noche. No me gusta comer otras cosas que no sea comida caliente en los horarios que toca. Mientras avanzaba la tarde estudié un poco, como ya había mencionado, tenía muchísimo quehacer para ese fin de semana, y el lunes en la tarde ya tenía la próxima conferencia de la Mestría.

In the evening after reading a very interesting article about my research topic: literature with a gender perspective written by women in Latin America, I then went out in search of a not very expensive restaurant to eat. She was staying on Avenida Paseo, corner 23, Vedado. I went down to 12 and 23 and there I found a place with good offers. The food was really delicious. It was Sunday, Sundays are dead days, I didn't find much to do that night, although, in any case, I needed to rest from the long and exhausting trip I had made, and in the morning of the next day I had an appointment for my legal procedures. I had to leave very early, so it was best to go to bed early.

En la tarde-noche luego de leer un artículo muy interesante sobre mi tema de investigación: literatura con enfoque de género escrita por mujeres en Latinoamérica, entonces salí en búsqueda de un restaurante no muy caro para comer. Estaba alojada en Avenida Paseo, esquina 23, Vedado. Bajé hasta 12 y 23 y por allá encontré un sitio con buenas ofertas. La comida estuvo realmente deliciosa. Era domingo, los domingos son días muertos, no encontré mucho para hacer esa noche, aunque, de todos modos, necesitaba descansar del largo y agotador viaje que había hecho, además, en la mañana del día siguiente tenía la cita para mis trámites legales. Debía salir bien tempranito, así que, lo mejor era ir a la cama temprano.

The trip was a complete success. That Monday very early in the morning I left for the Chilean Consulate, where I had to legalize some documents, the appointment was for 9:00 am but I tried to arrive early, so I would be one of the first. At the agreed time I entered and in a short time I had already completed my objective. At a few minutes past eleven in the morning I had my papers ready. I had time to return to the hotel, collect my belongings and leave for the train terminal, where the same bus in which I had gone to the capital would be returning to my city at 1:00 in the afternoon.

El viaje fue todo un éxito. Ese lunes bien temprano en la mañana salí rumbo al Consulado Chileno, donde debía legalizar unos documentos, la cita era para las 9:00 am pero procuré llegar temprano, así sería de las primeras. A la hora pactada entré y en breve tiempo ya había concluído mi objetivo. A las once y pocos minutos de la mañana tenía listos mis papeles. Me daba tiempo a regresar al hostal, recoger mis pertenencias y salir rumbo a la terminal de trenes, donde el mismo bus en el que había ido a la capital estaría regresando para mi ciudad a la 1:00 de la tarde.

It was one of the furthest and shortest trips I have ever taken. It was very fruitful. I recommend to my hivers Cuban friends the places where I was: I stayed at the Casa de las Federadas (FMC Federation of Cuban Women), which is located, I repeat address, on Calle Paseo, corner 23, very close to the traffic light. There I only paid 400 a night for the room. It is not a motel that provides service to all types of public nor is it available all the time, because generally they use it as a visiting house for officials from different institutions, especially when there are national events, but, the rest of the time, With prior coordination, it could be a good option.

Fue uno de los viajes más distantes y más breves que he hecho. Fue muy fructífero. Les recomiendo a mis hivers amigos cubanos los lugares en donde estuve: me hospedé en la Casa de las Federadas (FMC Federación de Mujeres Cubanas), que está ubicada, repito dirección, en Calle Paseo, esquina 23, muy cerca del semáforo. Ahí pagué solo 400 pesos la noche por la habitación. No es un motel que brinde servicio a todo tipo de público ni todo el tiempo está disponible, pues, por lo genreal lo usan como casa de visita para funcionarios de distintas instituciones, sobre todo cuando hay eventos nacionales, pero, el resto del tiempo, previa coordinación, pudiera serles una buena opción.

Thanks to this beautiful community for making space for this type of publications and curating content related to our ways of life. I have always found it very interesting to learn about how others carry out their daily routines.

Gracias a esta hermosa comunidad por hacer un espacio a este tipo de publicaciones y curar contenido relacionado a nuestros modos de vida. Siempre me ha resultado muy interesante conocer acerca de cómo llevan los demás sus rutinas diarias.


All images used in the post are my property. For the colashes I used PICsArt app.

Todas las imágenes utilizadas en el post son de mi propiedad. Para los colash usé PICsArt app.


Sort:  

Congratulations @limaescritora! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2024