Where's Elis?

in Ice Cream Creations2 months ago (edited)

I can't remember the last time I experienced hot weather. And by hot I mean upper 20s nearing 30, not the stupid 20 degrees summer we have in UK. Today it's stonking 28 degrees hot 🔥 🔥 where I am, so hot that the masses are out swimming in the river.
1000015449.jpg

Such hot weather calls for an ice cream, and a post in the Ice Cream Creations Community that I've promised for a long time.
1000015465.jpg

This place is called Elis, and based on their social media, opened back in March this year. They do gelato and also churros and berliners. There's a big cute churro artwork on the wall as soon as you walk in, very Asian I thought!!
1000015478.jpg

1000015475.jpg

The first thing I did was to check out the flavours of course. They had literally put out a new tray of Elis Bueno when I walked in. I recognised it from their Instagram. I asked the assistant what flavour it was. Do you know Kinder Bueno? She said. I didn't, is it the same as the Kinder chocolate egg? Similar, but not quite, she replied. I still had no idea what the flavour was.
1000015463.jpg

1000015481.jpg

A lot of the other flavours looked very tempting, but they didn't have my favourite chocolate flavour. Just a mint chocolate which I'm not a massive fan of. In the end, I figured if they name a flavour after the owner, then it must be good. So I chose the Elis Bueno and matcha, another of my favourite. Hubby chose his favourite hazelnut, and Elis Coffee Blend.
1000015467.jpg

I think cones are a big part of eating ice cream and gelato, unless they serve it in the crappy thin wafer cones, then they're normally very rubbish. This cone was very nice but somehow hubby's cone broke and a big chunk of the gelato fell off like an avalanche. Luckily I managed to grab a tub in time avoiding any accident or wastage.
1000015469.jpg

The gelato itself was very smooth and creamy. Top marks for texture. Can't fault that. As to flavour... The matcha was very nice, I would have preferred it to be a tad stronger, but maybe many westerners still aren't used to matcha so they kept it light. Hazelnut was very nice as well. And the Elis Coffee Blend was a very nice surprise. Neither of us are big coffee drinkers (I don't even know why hubby chose this flavour) but we both enjoyed this. The initial spoonful didn't taste anything at all, then the coffee flavour suddenly flushes through, it was a delight. And finally for the Elis Bueno. How do I describe it? It's sweet, gooey, hazelnut like. Tbh, had I known or had a taster (I should have asked for one) I wouldn't have chosen it. I mean the flavour was ok, but I didn't enjoy the texture. Parts of it was very heavy and I didn't like that texture. Gelato are supposed to be refreshing and make you feel good afterwards not wanting to drink a lot of water.

When I finished my gelato, I wanted to ask for a taster of their mango gelato because I noticed it tucked away in the corner of the fridge after I placed my order. I love mango. Unfortunately for me, a lot of customers came in then. Too bad, because I don't know if I'll be coming back again.
1000015483.jpg

Not because of Elis Bueno...Oh! I forgot, did I tell you where Elis is, and where it's stonking hot at 28 degrees today?

Have a great weekend!
1000015476.jpg

Sort:  

Aha, @livinguktaiwan (I see there are many versions of your name here😠), I did not know we have an Ice Cream community here!
There are so many flavors to choose from, I would also have chosen Hazelnut, plus gone for Mango! I cannot imagine the flavour of Matcha Ice Cream.
I love ice cream, and believe it or not, although it's supposed to be winter here, we're still eating ice cream! Winter comes and goes, weird weather here. I'm not even using my electric blanket, and it's almost July!
I hope summer settles in for real back home in the UK!

There's something very satisfying about eating ice cream in the winter, I do it sometimes and it feels very good. It sounds like you're having a warm winter, and before you know it, spring will be here!

Yes, there's a farm around that I'm nuking and this is them sloping down to another level.

Loading...

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

We've had a pretty hot stretch over here too!

Sounds kinda weird weather nowadays isn't it. Raining when you went camping, now hot weather.

Yeah, for sure!

Loading...
Loading...

Hip hip hooray love seeing your post here. You got me on a recent weakness. I've seen a few other Gelato posts recently and my craving is high, haha. Sorry the texture wasn't the best, your absolutely right you shouldn't be thirsty afterwards.

It has been extremely hot here as well. It was 38° C when I made a trip to Dairy Queen to get a Peach Cobbler blizzard. I was in a hurry to cool off so I didn't capture the experience, haha. Take care and hope the next time is much more satisfying. 🍨 🍦

Dairy Queen!! We went there a couple of times when we were in the States. And 38 degrees, that's crazy!!! I would have got myself a ln ice cream bath and stay in there all day 😁

Haha soaking in creme 😁

I'm making this comment before it gets a viral 950+ reblogs from fans. And now I'm craving for ice cream, thanks!

You know I'm very upset that I didn't get 1000 reblogs. Not as popular as I thought I'd be 🙃

Hehe...but i think you are 😄😄😄
One reblog from my side 😜😜

Haha! Thanks

There's some reblog bot who reblogged my last post nearly 1000 times, clearly someone has got too much on their hands.

Hahaha... that's really weird

Here we experienced a 50° temperature 😜....btw summer is meant for the ice cream... enjoy 😃

50 degrees 🔥🔥🔥

I hope you got aircon!!

LOL I was going to say it looks a bit too posh for WSM !!

Thank the lord above for the sun it has been a wonderful hot week in N Wales a stonking 28© F most of the time....long may it continue ( I hope someone is watering your plants back home)

What!! Did I miss the heat wave again?? I missed it back in May already 😫

Yes, my niece comes round to water my plants but most have been eaten up by slugs, not much left 😅

Ah damn slugs ! and rain and more slug loving weather.

It is warmer in Copenhagen than here in Spain right now? 😲
The max temp here is 27 degrees today, but we mentioned yesterday ice cream, that it would be time to have some 😇

I'm sure Spain will get much hotter in summer? How hot does it get? And when it does, the birds will sing and the rocks will rock whilst the pianist eat her ice cream 🍦

Hold on there, dear. We are also experiencing a wave of heat here. Don't know how to manage it without air conditioner...

1000010080.jpg

Wow! You get such a wide range of temperature, hotter than us in summer and colder than us in winter 😬

This is day/night temp for the next week 😬

@livinguktaiwan!

@bpcvoter3 passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

Ahh, so many interesting flavours in there! I can't remember when I went to a gelato last time especially since I gave up on sweets for a while, but Matcha sounds like something I'd love to taste!

Noooo!!!! What do you mean give up on sweets?? Who does that, they're the best 😁

Matcha flavour of everything is big in Asia, definitely try it if you see it around.

Haha. It was more of a personal challenge as I thought I'll never be able to do it but now as it's done, doesn't seem that hard anymore, lol.

That's interesting! Hopefully I'll make it someday on that part of the globe 💓

Ooooh gelato. It’s 40 degrees in the UK today! No just kidding, had our two hot days and now it’s back to what it does best, high teens and windy.

Trust me to be away when the weather is good 🥴 I feel like I'm constantly living in the artic circle

It's getting pretty hot here too, on Sunday it will be 33 degrees or so google says. I'm going to make Olivia some ice cream with fruit and her milk, I need an ice cream like yours hahaha.

I hope Olivia will enjoy the summer weather and the ice cream you're going to make her. This is your first family summer, have a great one!!

Loading...
Loading...