The Duke and Duchess podcast

in GEEKZ4 years ago

image.png

So I have posted a few times in the past about fantasy book podcasts that I enjoy. There was the post about the guys over at the Legendarium podcast and then the one about Luke Burrage and sfbrp podcast. While I enjoy both of those podcasts this one is a bit of a different beast. So what makes this one different and why do I like it so much? Lets get into it

The Format

There are a few things about the format that I really enjoy. First and foremost, while the other podcasts will cover many of the books I enjoy, it is generally one podcast per book, maybe 2 or 3 if I'm lucky. This podcast is more of a read-along podcast where they do a super deep dive so while they cant cover a lot of books the ones they do get into you get a lot of great content. They will split a book into around 50 page chunks and try to get an episode out every week or 2. It allows them to get into a lot of the details you might miss if you were just speed reading through the book.

The other thing I like is the basic premise of the podcast. It is hosted by a husband and wife duo and the wife has read all of the books while the husband has read none of them. For a series you have already read it makes it entertaining to see what a first time reader thinks of it in real time and what his predictions are for where the book is going. The Duke and Duchess have some really good chemistry and always manage to make it an entertaining listen.

image.png
Source

What books have they covered?

As far as series go they have hit on a number of my favorites so far (perhaps why I like them so much). They started with the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss, they have also done the Stormlight Archives (and Warbreaker) by Brandon Sanderson, The Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch, and they are now dipping a toe into the epic Malazan book of the fallen by Steven Erikson. If you enjoy any of these series or are thinking about starting one and want someone to read along with you I highly recommend this podcast. They have also done a few one off episodes on various books but the series I listed are what make up the majority of what they have done.

Where can you find them?

For starters you can check out their website- https://www.thedukeandduchesspodcast.com/

They have archives of all the old episodes there. You can also find them at the usual places, google play, stitcher, apple podcasts, wherever you normally listen. If you want to get a little bit more interactive they have a facebook group and a reddit as well. If you do end up checking it out, let me know what you think. Hope everyone enjoys :)

Sort:  

What are your thoughts on The Kingkiller Chronicles?

Looks like a cool podcast!

I really enjoyed the first 2 books. The Auri novella was... less good. I am becoming very pessimistic about him finishing the 3rd book anytime soon.

I haven't read the novella but loved the first books. This is something quite common among fantasy fans, isn't it? They either love this series or hate it.

I hope he does finish it soon. But I'm not really bothered. Have a lot of books to read on my TBR.