Divine Pussies - MEOW - Remembering OLIVE (Stunning Tortie Cat)

in Caturday4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @Camille Forbush

_9140902_ORIG_edited.jpg

For many years I'd seen pictures of Olive on FB and IG and people "purr-ring"" out their love for Olive. It wasn't until last summer when I spent a weekend with my sister-in-law Tinki, that I got to meet Olive face to face.

_9140902_edited_editedcropped.jpg
I was AWESTRUCKED

I started to pet Olive immediately, and was surprised by her softness. Very soon I realised that Olive assumed she'd gotten a new permanent petter.

I wouldn't mine anyhow.
_9140905_ORIG_edited.jpg

A little insight as to how special Olive was to my sister-in-law Tinki:

Olive was found crying in a garbage bin late one winter night. She was actually wearing a collar, which identified her owners. Right away Tinki rang up the owners to advise that she'd found Olive, and wanted to know what they'd like her to do...

"We sold her already", said the owner who ended the call abruptly.
_9140909_ORIG_edited1.jpg

Anyway, after taking Olive to the Vet and Animal Shelter, Tinki got the go ahead to adopt Olive. Tinki was now over the moon.

Olive was a perfect house cat and great company for Tinki who lives alone.
Better yet, Olive's need for belonging was achieved. She felt at home and felt loved.

Olive was sociable yet independent and always joined us in the garden for afternoon tea, made her way to the attic to be with us, always giving off the impression that she understood and enjoyed our conversations.

Mother's Instinct

Olive's appetite was low and Tinki was a little concerned, so she cooked chicken...Olive loved chicken. Chicken made Olive exhibit behaviour like a hysterical whirlwind spin, like a cat on heat. I'd heard catnip could do that to cats, not chicken. It was fascinating to watch but we decided it's best to lock Olive outside the kitchen in order for us to cook peacefully.

Olive was definitely the highlight of my weekend at Tinki.

Sadly, when I called to check on Olive a week later, Tinki informed me that the reason for Olive's low appetite was because she had a tumour that was making her ill and destroying her blood cells.

_9140904_ORIG_edited.jpg

Sort:  

I met her in Bristol. She looked like evil personified but was rather nice

Oh No! She was beautiful!😅

Haha...yeah, she got that look ;)

She's beautiful! Sad to hear about the tumor :(

Thank you! Yes, very happy I got to meet her after all those years :)

What a remarkably beautiful cat... such unusual markings. So sorry to hear about the tumor...

=^..^=

Thank you! It's the 1st cat like her I'd ever seen. Really beautiful!

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store