Spring is in the air in France! #BeerSaturday

in BEER3 years ago

Hello! This being my first ever review, I feel like I should give you a little bit of background knowledge about me. Don't worry, I'll keep it short!

  1. I moved to France only 6 months ago from the UK.
  2. I've worked in many pubs in the UK and I love beer.
  3. Trying new beers is really exciting for me. I have probably tried over a hundred different beers in the last 7 years.
  4. Following my recent pregnancy I now have a 3 month old girl, and finally I can drink beer again and I'm eager to try everything that the French have to offer.
  5. We live in the Haut-Savoie region right next to the Alps and there are beaucoup de artisan breweries around. Which means I can keep those reviews coming!

To kick off my first ever review I have chosen 2 local beers, both named beers of spring. (Printemps means spring). How very appropriate, right! Intending to do them justice, first of all I needed some good pictures, preferably somehow representing the link with spring. So, with my 3 month old sitting comfortably on the front in a sling, a rucksack containing the beers on my back and our dog in tow, with a determined and excited spring in my step hoping to find flowers and stuff, I ventured out to the local field to do my first ever beer photo shoot... And this is the result. I almost started my review with the words "Here in France beer bottles casually lay among flowers and rocks..." but I risked sounding too much like David Attenborough.

20210419_114020.jpg

Et voilà! I present Biere De Printemps from the Léman brewery and Printemps beer from Brasserie La Rochoise.

20210419_113540.jpg

ABOUT
Let's start with the big pink one.

20210419_112315.jpg

THE BREWERY: Léman brewery is nestled in Chablais between the mountains and lake Léman. This is what the brewery says about their beers:
"Neither filtered nor pasteurized, our beers are 100% natural, brewed in the traditional way (gas carbon dioxide comes from the refermentation in the bottle - the deposit of yeast attests), all are "Original and tasty”, with only raw materials from organic farming: barley, wheat, hop, sugar malts (for refermentation)."
That sounds right up my street.
THE BEER: 5% ABV, copper color IPA , described as lively and light on the palate with notes of green tea and exotic fruits.

Let's check out the other one.

20210419_113652.jpg

THE BREWERY: Located in La Roche-sur-Foron (my current hometown), which is in the heart of Haute-Savoie. Passionate and ethical brewers since 2014 brewing their artisanal organic beers on site .
THE BEER: 6.3% ABV, unfiltered, unpasteurised, bottle refermented. Described as herby with floral notes, medium bodied yet easy to drink.

THE TASTING

Léman:
Smell: sweet and fruity, dried fruit like apricots with a hint of honey.
Taste: Suple, moreish, fruity but not greipfruity, if you know what I mean, more floral; bitter finish.
I would pair with: magret (caramelised duck breast), goats cheese and honey pizza.

20210419_183039.jpg

La Rochoise Printemps
Smell: malty and fruity.
Taste: this copper colour beer is medium hopped, early with slight pine-niness.
I would pair with: BBQ meats, spicy chicken wings.

20210420_180642.jpg

Cheers! Or rather - SANTÉ !

Sort:  

Congratulations @aggilingo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

wow - looks like an interesting beer. Make sure you join the weekly challenge #BeerSaturday, where you may win some BEER, HIVE and LEO token

That looks like two delicious beers. Great post.
!BEER

 3 years ago  

Hey @aggilingo, here is a little bit of BEER from @ynwa.andree for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cheers! Welcome aboard to the stormy !BEER ship! Not sure if I taste any French beer, but I'll have in mind this two you presented here. 😎 🍺 🍻

 3 years ago  

Hey @aggilingo, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.