A Beer With a Special Story - Darling Brew Warlord Imperial IPA

in BEERlast month

_DSC9087.JPG


Certain beers are more than just the beer; they contain a special hidden story.


_DSC9079.JPG

I stumbled upon this beer a long time ago at a local liquor shop. At that time, I was more into smokey and peated whiskies, but I saw the beer and I knew I had to drink it. Since then, my dad and I regularly drink this beer when we cook (braai - BBQ). It is more like a "wine" than an easy-drinking beer. We usually have it with some BBQ'ed meat.

Since getting involved with a particular girl, she always asks me what is my favorite beer. I have always dodged the question because I know she wanted to buy for me, but I know that the beer is very expensive, at least on our student budgets.

Fast forward to the beginning of 2024, when my girlfriend had to fly back home, she sniffed out that I loved this beer. When we waited in line for some food, she snuck off to find the liquor shop (it was in the same shopping centre) and when I saw her, she stood with a plastic bag in hand. Intuitively, I knew that she bought me the beers. I sighed, I did not want her to buy me beer, at least not an expensive one. But she was leaving the next day, and she wanted to get me a parting gift of sorts.

Fast forward again, and here I am drinking the beer that she bought me on the evening before flying to her. I think the timing worked out perfectly, and that it was such a beautiful moment in which I could savour the last sip just before flying back to her.

_DSC9094.JPG

It is probably a beer-sin to drink non-Trappist beers from a Trappist glass. But I find this beer best drunk from this glass. I always get these glasses from the cupboard when I drink this particular beer. The Darling Brew Warlord Imperial IPA is a heavy beer, boasting almost 10% ABV and 40 IBU's, this Imperial IPA is reserved for those who like heavy beers.

_DSC9089.JPG

It has a rich and deep amber colour with a solid white head. The hoppy flavours strike you as you pour the beer, reminding you of its heaviness.

The first sip always reminds me of warming up from the inside. It gives me a "hug" from within. I always feel it wrapping its hoppy arms around me, from within.

The high-ish ABV coats your mouth and it warms you up. The fruity flavours follow. It is, as I said above, more akin to a wine.

I like to drink this beer very slowly. As it warms up a bit, more flavours emerge from the glass. It develops as you drink it.

I had the opportunity to drink it on tap once or twice, but from the bottle, it is just as good. This beer is surely one of my favourites. At least it is now. While writing this, I can still taste the deep flavours, the almost nutty and caramel flavour that somehow hides behind the upfront fruity ones.

If I could drink this beer more often, I would, but it is double the price of a normal beer. Even on tap, it is double the price of other beers. It will remain a once-in-a-while treat.

_DSC9098.JPG

My girlfriend was really naughty by buying this beer for me. Even though she does not really drink that much craft beer, especially not the heavy beers, it shows how much love there is from her side. It was such a thoughtful gift, and one that lasted for a long time as I savoured all of the beers.

For now, I am enjoying the memory, and relishing in the thought of her love. All of this is hidden in this heavy beer, one that will from now on always carry with it this special story.

I hope that you will find beauty in your beers, and that you have a loved one who wants to share it with you.

All of the writings in this post are my own, albeit inspired by this special story. All of the photographs are also my own, taken with my Nikon D300.

_DSC9099.JPG

Sort:  

Sounds delicious i would like drink 2 of those bottles :D

Two would make me a bit drunk because it is so heavy! But I will not say no to two beers though!

It definitely seems to be unique, so it's fitting that it's a beer for every once in a while

Thank you so much. Indeed, one really wants to keep it for those special occasions.

For the fact that it's a gift, value it the more and I like as you saved it on blockchain because it will serve as a lifetime reminder to you.

Don't forget to show her this post once she fly back.

My regards to her.

Thank you so much! Indeed, these memories eternalised are so much more special. I did indeed show it to her! Keep well, and enjoy a special beer!