Arrow Head Russian Imperial Stout: Returning to Life With a Powerful Beer

in BEER2 months ago

_DSC8348.JPG

***

Darling Brew Arrow Head Russian Imperial Stout

***

Sometimes you just need a big beer to get you back on track. We tend to forget the small things in life because we focus and worry so much about the bigger things, which we in either way could not affect. Our worries will not change anything, in fact, it can make them worse.

My girlfriend bought me a couple of beers, and we cracked open this big beer. It boasts 8% ABV, it tastes of pure chocolate and coffee, and it makes you rethink and think twice about the worries that structure and dictate our lives.

This beer tastes of a worry-free life.

This beer tastes like you should enjoy every single second you spend on this earth.

This beer reminds you to take a break.

_DSC8347.JPG

_DSC8349.JPG

It poured with a creamy head. It smelled of so many dark drinks, chocolate, coffee, cocoa powder. I gave my girlfriend a sip, but she did not share my sentiment regarding this beer. It afforded me more beer though!

While I drank this beer, the worries seemed to drift away. We opened up a game, Rummikub, and we enjoyed the night that was still young. We actively pushed our problems to the side, relishing in the joy of a worry-free night.

_DSC8354.JPG


We laughed and we enjoyed the night. It seemed like we could get away with the child-like mentality. Tomorrow, we will sort things out. Tomorrow, we will return to adult life, with all its self constructed problems and worries. Tomorrow, we return, but tonight, we enjoy the brief pause in the strange world we live in.

The beer was cold, but as the temperature rose closer to room temperature, it got better and better. I usually do this with any stout that I drink. I cool it down, but then I let the temperature rise. With the increased temperature, the chocolate and coffee notes seem to be enhanced, more in the forefront.

_DSC8351.JPG

_DSC8352.JPG

I drank the last sip, almost acknowledging the fact that the new day will break in which we will return to our old lives. But for the moment, with the chocolate and coffee flavours still lingering in my mouth and in my mind, I pushed the thoughts aside and played a game with my girlfriend.

We enjoyed the cool breeze of the early night, we got a little drunk on too much beer, and we thought, "this is what life is". But we did not entertain the thoughts too much, as life has a way of reminding you that pleasure and leisure are not something that you can experience constantly.

But we enjoyed the moment for what it was and what it presented to us. For it could not have been otherwise, but we made the most of it.

I hope you are having a cold one, enjoying the beer and the weekend!

Keep well.

All of the writings are my own, albeit inspired by the beer. The photographs are also my own, taken with my Nikon D300.

Sort:  

Again a very nice mix of beer and pictures plus a nice story.

Thanks for sharing

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Nothing like a good beer after a long day's work.

Yep, that's a beer to share :) I've had similar and those imperial stouts are like a full dish compared to other beer styles :))

Cheers!

So true. It feels like a meal in a bottle. Heavier than red wine as well, even though the alcohol is not that high compared to wine. I think there are heavier Imperial Russian stouts out there though, this one was on the lighter side.

Of all beers, stout happens to be my favourite. This activity will keep the bond with your girlfriend stronger

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it. For sure! Stout goes down so well.

This beer tastes of a worry-free life. I so much love that line. It's going to be really nice trying that beer.

Thank you so much my friend! It really did taste like that. I hope you find a good beer as well.

Everything looks wonderful, from the beer itself to the beautiful bottle and pictures!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. The lighting outside was perfect when I photographed them.