🍺 Beer review: Rochefort 10 # Beersaturday

in BEER4 years ago

In my review of last week (https://peakd.com/hive-187719/@friendlymoose/review-westmalle-tripel-beersaturday) I already mentioned I had bought a Rochefort 10. This beer is the flagship of the Rochefort brewery, one of the 12 trappist breweries in the world.
In contrast to some other trappist beers Rochefort 10 is widely available at an affordable price (at least where I live). I always like to try different beers so I was quite surprised when I found out that I didn’t have this one before.

Rochefort 10

Rochefort 10 is brewed in the Abbey Notre-Dame de Saint-Rémy since 1899.
Rochefort,_abbaye_SaintRemy.jpg
(Photo from Wikipedia: User Grentidez)

The 10 is a quadruple. They also make the 6 and 8 where the 6 is a brown beer and the 8 a barley wine.
I always thought a quadruple was the same as a barley wine but it seems like there is a difference between the two.
img_20201010_220620_50447139372_o.jpg

The name and the label of the beer are quite boring. Maybe this is the reason why I was never tempted to buy one. But when I found out I didn’t have one before and the app I use for rating beers gave me a 96% taste match with this beer I just had to buy one.

Before I put it in the fridge I checked the label and discovered an astonishing 11,3% alcohol. Since I follow the rule of drinking at the temperature of the percentage of alcohol this one didn’t need to stay in the fridge too long.
The beer has a really dark brown color; almost black. You cannot see through it. The layer of foam also has a brownish color.
img_20201010_225243_1_50447331382_o.jpg

The smell of the beer is spicy and sweet and you can definitely notice there is a lot of alcohol in this beer. Naturally you notice this when you drink the beer too. But apart from the alcohol there is a lot of flavor in this beer of dark fruit and spices. It’s sweet from the dark fruit, a bit sharp from the alcohol, but also a bit creamy. I ate some salty cheese with the beer which was a very good combination.
img_20201010_230510_50459548912_o.jpg

The high percentage of alcohol is a thing. The warmth of the alcohol remains for a while. You should really take it easy with this one. I spent over an hour enjoying this beer. It is an ideal beer to drink at the end of a cold evening before going to bed.

For me this is really an excellent beer, but as always it's a matter of taste. I like stronger spicy beers. It shows that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover because the name and label were quite boring (in contrast to the colorfull labels and hip brand names nowadays).
I give it a 4,5 out of 5 rating.

Happy weekend!

Sort:  

That's a pretty good rule for temp - would work in most instances. I love Rochfort 10 - it was one of the beers that started my journey away from fizzy yellow lagers to real beer.

Hello dear friend @friendlymoose good night
Excellent tasting description, you are very good at doing these tastings, you know the appropriate terminology, I appreciate that very much.
Thank you very much for sharing these details.
have a wonderful night and a happy rest

Thank you. You're doing a great job yourself too. Enjoy your weekend.

An absolutely beautiful beer! Monks rule!!

 4 years ago  

Hey @friendlymoose, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That is a nice !BEER and a great brewery.

Been there and made a nice post about that.
https://peakd.com/beersaturday/@detlev/wow-since-2-years-i-maintain-the-beersaturday-celebrating-with-rochefort-8

Very cool with the bell tower! And I like the wooden crates too.
I should visit more breweries :)

 4 years ago  

Hey @friendlymoose, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.