My Cousin Rona

in BEER4 months ago

image.png

Twas the Night before Christmas and all through the house, everyone was avoiding me, even the mouse!

I had a fantastic Christmas planned with all the kids coming over to visit for a few days. Everything was perfect. And then an unexpected and uninvited guest arrived, my Cousin Rona!

You may have heard of her, you may have even met her. She is known by many names including COVID-19, the Wuhan Virus and my personal favorite RONA.

So everyone went to my daughters house to celebrate Christmas leaving me alone, quarantined as they say, with a nasty cough and sore throat.

I mustered all my remaining strength and wondered through my empty house for my very own Christmas celebration.

image.png

I knew better than to drink beer as my body was full of bourbon and honey but it was Christmas. Just me and my Cousin Rona, who I must say has never been good company especially during the holidays, were there to celebrate Christmas.

I figured that I might as well have a cold one before going back to bed.

image.png

I even broke out the fancy beer glass for my Christmas Eve celebration.

image.png

Well it has been two weeks since RONA came for her visit. The sore throat left long ago, and the coughing is almost over.

What remains is the fatigue and the feeling of complete disruption of the normal routine.

So that is how my Christmas came and went this year. I hope all of you had a better time of it.

BEER NAME: Gaelic Ale
STYLE: Ale
BREWER: Highland Brewing Co. of Asheville North Carolina
APPEARANCE: deep amber, pours with a foamy head
AROMA: toasted malts
TASTE: sweet malts, with a balance of bitters at the finish
MOUTHFEEL: light body, carbonates well and hangs around on the pallet

So the bad news is I missed Christmas this year.

The good news is I have a ton of beer still in my refrigerator.

I hope your holiday season was better than mine.

See y'all next #beersaturday.

God willing and my Cousin Rona stays away!

Sort:  

Glad to see you are enjoying your drink. Cheer's.

Yeah , cousin Rona is a bit of a mean one...Like Misses Grinch. I hope you get well soon.

You had some good brews, peace and quiet! silver lining.

This will really taste so great I believe

i can feel the sadness from your words.

What a relief that Cousin Rona didn't take away your taste. Ruining the only remaining joy of yours would be very sneaky of her ;)

I feel like having a taste of this actually

I am glad

sore throat left long ago, and the coughing is almost over. Also, the fatigue will soon be gone before you know it.

Do enjoy the rest of your year with prosperity

This is surely going to have an amazing taste
Enjoy it!

You received an upvote of 70% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

Oh man I hope you are feeling better! There seems to be a few waves going around here as people conveniently forget to be careful after a couple years of hysteria.

IMG_0162.JPG

Awesome that you celebrated with a beer and I almost would have loved a quiet party with the family far away! Here is a Double IPA in a champagne style flute as my cheers!

beerologistapproved.png