My Heart is in the Highlands

in BEER2 years ago

IMG_20220827_143214543.jpg

"My Heart is in the Highlands, wherever I go . . ."

A wonderful line of prose by the great bard of Scotland.

Today I to a walkabout with my son in the Highlands of North Carolina.

IMG_20220827_141840861.jpg

A hike punctuated with grand vistas and fields of Thistle.

Screenshot 2022-08-27 at 20-11-09 Scotland Week Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

Hoot man and well said! I think he means it.

As this is a #beersaturday post and while heart did wonder about the Highlands, my gullet cried out for BEER! Down off the mountain to the vale below where the local brewery awaits.

IMG_20220827_153631975_HDR.jpg

This is the place for a refreshing beer after a long mountain trek.

IMG_20220827_153956880.jpg

"My heart's in the Highlands, a-chasing the deer . . ."

Do you think he meant, "a-chasing the BEER"?

I enjoyed the Boone Creek Blonde Ale which is brewed with a zest of orange and a hint of wildflower honey. A perfect beer to drink after a long walk in the mountains.

IMG_20220827_153959526.jpg

My son had a Marzen beer, two months early if you ask me, but I guess it is true that it is better to be early than late. I did take a little sip just so I could type about it tonight on #beersaturday.

Actually this was very good beer with a great toasted malts flavor and not as sweet as I had anticipated. Really well balanced beer complete with the Oktoberfest stein.

Screenshot 2022-08-27 at 20-31-50 Beer women Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

So there you have it, a world wide tour from North Carolina, to the Highlands of Scotland to the Bavarian Alps all in one grand #beersaturday post.

Who says I am a small town hayseed, I am world traveler.

When I walk in the mountains and see a Thistle, my heart is in the Highlands.

When I drink a Blonde Ale with a zest of orange and honey, I know I am deep in my South.

And when I sip a Marzen beer, instantly I am in Munich!

Who needs a passport when you can just drink a beer?

I may not be a poet, but I do believe I am a philosopher.

TRIVIA TIME!

I have a #beersaturday tradition of asking a trivia question. The first person to answer the question in the COMMENTS wins a BEER Token!

In tonight's #beersaturday post, I quoted two lines from a famous poet from Scotland.

Screenshot 2022-08-27 at 20-59-58 Robert Burns Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

Good luck and I will see y'all next #beersaturday!

Sort:  

"Arrrrrrgh! Haem sweit haem!" 😉 -Keptin

MacKinnon-Elgol.jpg

Hahaha "Who needs a passport when you can just drink a beer?" I !love that quote!

Feel free to use it whenever the occasion arises!

!LOL

What did the painter say to the wall?
One more crack like that and I'll plaster you!

Credit: reddit
@handofzara, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @memehive

Thanks for supporting The LOLZ Project. We !LUV our users!
(3/8)

!BEER

Robert Burns is the Bard of Scotland 😀 The "Highlands of North Carolina", were you near Pilot Mountain, the Mrs has family in High Point N.C.

!BEER well done! Actually I was in Boone which about a two hour drive from High Point.

Very nice part of the Country, enjoy the Appalachian mountains!!😊

 2 years ago  

Hey @silvertop, here is a little bit of BEER from @handofzara for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You received an upvote of 86% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

 2 years ago  

Hey @handofzara, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.