#Beersaturday 2Brothers Brewery in Melbourne, Australia

in BEERlast year

2Brothers is a Brewery that has been around for about 15 years, which makes it one of the older craft breweries in Melbourne, Australia. They are based in Moorabbin and have made a choice of late (say the last 10 years) to focus most of their distribution in the South East Suburbs of Melbourne

That is a place I don't live, but I happened to have need to be down that way yesterday so when we were looking for somewhere to have a quick bite and some beer, this place came to mind.

It's a important brewery in my craft beer journey - when I used to write a craft beer blog in the late 2000's early 2010's they were a great supporter, they gave me plenty of free beer and even invited me to the brewery (which the internet tells me was in 2011 and I'm not sure I've been there since, also I've just re-read that blog post and it's still funny so I'll likely steal some facts from it.) Also Untappd tells me that they are still my 9th most drunk brewery, a their beer Growler my 6th most drunk of all time (not bad, given I'm pretty sure they don't make it anymore)

But let's get on with the story, let's intersperse some beers with some facts about 2Brothers

image.png

This beer is Santa Monica WCIPA and it's their brand new beer - released Yesterday. It's a pretty good beer to, in the old style of IPAs, maybe not a hoppy as I would like but it's very refreshing, very clean and a good old beer.

Fact: The 2Brothers of the title are David and Andrew Ong, they were Melbourians who were both living in the USA back int he day when they thoughts of opening a brewery. The original tanks were from the defunct 'Times Square Brewery' in New York, which was bought by Disney and then closed down. It was a simpler time when the easiest way of getting fermentor tanks in Australia was to buy them second hand in New York and ship them here. Back in the day these tanks lived in the brewery and had the names of the five Boroughs on New York on them (they have since be replaced)

image.png

Next beer up was the Fruit Bomb NEIPA - which again is a very approachable beer, super easy drinking very refreshing and quite fruity, but not massively so

Fact: I've drunk 25 different beers from 2Brothers - and I 'own' (most check-ins on Untappd) 4 of their beers - which were all core range at one point - impressive.

And now it's time for lunch (everythough it's 3 in the afternoon) - Pizza - classic.

image.png

And then back to the brews

image.png

The beer in the unbranded glass (why wouldn't they be serving everything in branded glasses - this makes no sense) is called Iddy Middy Raspberry Sour. which is a title which makes no sense. A Middy is a mid-strength beer in Australia which is some awful invention by the macro brewers it sort of a watered down commercial lager and this beer isn't that - it's a Raspberry Sour, except it isn't it's actually a Raspberry berlinerweiss- which is to say it's very nice, but it's not a sour in the way we have come to understand it - it's a classical way of getting subtle raspberry flavours into a beer which means it tastes like beer rather than cordial.

Fact: 2Brothers made a lot of money in the early days of a Pear cider called Gypsy - this was during the great cider fad of the 2009-2011 - I'm reasonably sure this basically funded the brewery back when their crazy arse beers weren't selling - the core range at the point was a Pilsener (Taxi) and American Brown Ale (Growler) and American Red Ale (Rusty) and a Marzen (The Chief) so it's perhaps not surprising that they weren't selling

And the Final beer in the branded glass is called Little Havana Lazy Pale and I have to say it was the beer of the day for me - I understand I'm at the brewery but this tasted like a hazy pale all should, fresh, fruity, refreshing it was excellent - in fact I liked it so much I bought a four pack to take home with me - because God knows when I'll be making the long (it's like a 45 minute drive) to the suburbs again.

Sort:  

Hey @harveyword

Great post Cheers and !BEER

 last year  

Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

This would be a good place to drink a good beer, even the pizzas look delicious.
Were you recognized as a former regular ? 😀 Always great to drink directly in the brewery. Enjoy your day.