#Beersaturday - A nice trio of beers after a bloomin hard days graft

in BEER2 years ago

Me and the wife have been working on DIY projects around our property today. We had a mid-day break to get more hardware supplies, and also dropped into Lidl where I picked up 3 different beers.

 "ifCYbxFkRY2-GZktw8XXLA.jpg"

I was slaving away in our old shed, clearing up a ton of mess after a re-roof. I took a quick break to check on my wife who had been gardening, and she was nowhere to be seen. I went in the house, at 3.30pm, and she had already finished work for the day, and cracked open a beer !

 "EzGEqDJcRq28krQNmfJPaQ.jpg"

She started on the Desperados. I quite like it, its a Dutch lager, that also has lime and tequila added. The lime makes it quite sweet, and the tequila is not at all over powering. And its pretty strong at 5.9% - although it does not taste it. I quite like it and will often pick some up, as I love lime and have a sweet tooth - so this fits the bill. Plus I find that its quite a nice thirst quencher.

 "ajoe-kwzSkeXoJltTkLjiw.jpg"

Next up was this double hopped Citra IPA. When we were in Lidl, my wife was rushing me to choose something as she wanted to get going and I picked this by mistake. I saw the 'citra' on the label, and thought it was a lager and lime type beer - noting that I like lime, but dont really like hoppy beers - I never clocked the 'double hopped' label !

I have to say it was quite nice (I had a couple). Its from Down South Brewing, also weighs in at 5.9% and seems to have been brewed specifically for Lidl. It was quite a nice IPA - you could certainly taste the hops, but it wasnt too hoppy. I do like an IPA (India Pale Ale) on occasion and this didn't disappoint.

 "wVtQF4vHRu-G3FDh0rx12g.jpg"

And last but not least was this WEST, 4% session lager. Its made by West, a Glaswegian brewer here in Scotland. The can says its a German Lager, and even has the tag line 'Brewed in Glasgow in accordance with the German purity law of 1516' !!! I really liked it - it was very refreshing, and for me was my fav beer of the 3 today - so top marks go to Wests's 4% session lager. The only downside for me was that I only bought one can of it. However, thats something I can easily rectify another weekend.

Anyway, my wife conked out early and she snoring away on the couch now - and I've just finished the rest of the beer - winner !

Have a great weekend all - cheer @hoosie

For more info on the #beersaturday challenge - check it our here.

Sort:  

Hi @hoosie,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I would have absolutely selected the Double Hopped Citra both on purpose and first - Different strokes for different folks I guess, and there is plenty of beer style going around to make everyone happy.

Yep absolutely - and 30 years ago, I would have also selected the IPA first - tastes change over time too !

That's great that you can experience the German purity beer made in Scotland!

I have to say it was a cracking lager - I really liked it !

Its great to see the new beers popping up. I haven't touched Stella or Fosters since my youth! lol.

I have had a sip of Erdinger and Staropramen recently.

Both of those are quite nice. I've been trying new and different beers where I can - and its great when you find one you really like !