My Beer Journey and some introduction

in BEER4 years ago

Joining a community you really like, is worthy of a proper introduction...

My name is Edgar and I am an amateur beer brewer, researcher, and writer. I love to write about science, brewing, beer, and a combination of both to the benefit of all beer enthusiasts.

I joined the BEER community only recently (last week) and after thinking about my first week here (reading great posts, getting and replying to comments, and many other positive interactions), I thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself properly.

A little about me

My brewing journey started when my girlfriend (and now wife) gave me a birthday present. A basic homebrew kit. It was the year 2000. We were broke Ph.D. students abroad, trying to make ends meet. With a pair of buckets, simple tubing, random ingredients, and the help of a fellow student, I created my first homebrew

luke-southern-gW7QRXDSvec-unsplash.jpg

My first brew looked something like this: Photo by Luke Southern on Unsplash

My beer was ok. I had used more water to get more beer (I was a poor student after all), which made it too watery. I enjoyed it though. My first brew had caught my imagination and raised many questions. Since then, I have not only created lots of beers; I have also learned about the process.

As a brewing novice, I received enormous support and encouragement. In my search for ingredients in rural Ohio, I met Brandon, a brew store owner (in his basement) and organizer extraordinaire of a local brew club. The monthly feedback, encouragement, and our annual brew days, helped me become more confident and a better brewer. I learned about approaches, techniques, styles, and equipment. Brew club membership also taught me I could bring skills to the table (microbiology) to everyone's benefit. We had a blast!

Photo by Giovanna Gomes on Unsplash

After twenty years of brewing, a career in research, and a passion for writing, the time has come for me to combine my interests and make the most of my expertise. I am here to serve you, my fellow beer enthusiasts and offer my beers and "expertise".

Knowledge is power, they say. With that in mind, I am excited to be part of the BEER community and learn more about beer. Loads!

Thanks again for reading this post. I hope my scribbles will find you in good health, in good company, and holding a delicious beer!

Best wishes and stay safe!

Edgar.

Sort:  

Congratulations @huitemae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome to the community

Thank you! Happy to be here. 🍺