Beerlover + Saturday = #BeerSaturday #4 - Valeir Blond

in BEER2 years ago

Hello there Hivers and beer lovers! Time for the next #BeerSaturday!

Two of my friends, real beer lovers, and people with time (because they're retired), run a beer tasting afternoon every two weeks, where they usually have three beers to taste for a group of about 15 regulars, all beerlovers (and retired).
For two years I joined their course, until from the end of last year I started to spend more and more of my free time in Spain, where my wife lives.
But they didn't forget me, as a beer lover in heart and soul, and they always bring their beers to my home so I can enjoy them and share my score with them.

The last tasting was already two weeks ago, and so one day I received a package with beer at my doorstep.
Among them was a Valeir Blond. A beer that has been brewed since 2004 by Brouwerij Contreras, a brewery in Gavere, not far from Ghent, and founded in 1818.

valeir_fles_voor

valeir_fles_achter

Since 2004, a Valeir Blond has been brewed there, a top-fermented beer with secondary fermentation in the bottle and also in the barrel. It is a blond specialty beer, where dry-hopping is used during the brewing process.
The beer is available in 33cl bottles and also in 30 liter barrels.
The alcohol content is only 6.5%, which invites you to enjoy this beer also on a sunny day on a summer terrace!

valeir_fles_glas

I tasted the beer from a bottle, a cask would be too much, and well chilled from the refrigerator.
Poured out according to the rules of the art, of course, but I do prefer to taste with the loosened yeast pouring into the glass with it.

valeir_glas

In terms of color, it is an orange-blond beer, very clear as long as you do not add yeast. When the yeast goes into the bottle, then of course you get a cloudy beer. But I like that! Pure nature!
On the beer a nice big white head, which however seems to disappear quickly, although I always pay attention to a neat, clean and degreased glass.
In the nose I discover hay, grass, apricot and banana. A lot of the yeast is present in the aroma.
The taste is slightly fruity, sweet, with a balance between apple and apricot, and light to medium grassy bitterness, weakly spicy with a yeasty and hoppy touch. A sour note of lemon in the background.
In the flavor I do recognize the Sterling hops used.
The beer has a dry, grassy and earthy, hoppy finish. A bit spicy and yet slightly yeasty.
A medium body with a smooth texture and a powerful carbonation.

screenshot_20220609_225318
source

With its 6.5% alcohol, this is a refreshing blond beer, a typical Belgian Ale, although with a modern touch. Very pleasant refreshment!

Have a nice weekend everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ivvl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners