805: An Amateurish Beer Review

in BEER4 years ago

805 is a blonde ale from Firestone Walker Brewing Company, but it seems to be a special branding effort to capitalize on hip, trendy, outdoorsy marketing since it has its own website. They even have an exclusive Twitter account. I have to say, that kind of marketeering makes my skin crawl a bit. But let's give this microbrew a try anyway.

My first experimental Amateurish Beer Review post was Union Jack IPA from this same brewery. This is not like that beer, for better or worse. My best guess about the name based on essentially no research whatsoever is the 805 area code in California, but I could be way off. I would describe it like an above-average lager with more substance and flavor. 4.7% ABV isn't especially strong, and the hops are not at all aggressive.

As spring approaches even here in the frozen north, I give this brew a tentative stamp of approval despite not matching my usual preferences for darker, more robust beer. If you want something so wild it'll kick you in the teeth, this isn't it. If you want something simple and refreshing, but much more interesting than Budweiser, you're in luck. There aren't any sports to watch thanks to the coronavirus scare, so I'd suggest doing some spring cleaning or yard work to justify sampling this stuff. That is, if you need to concoct a justification to drink a beer, anyway.

Sort:  

Sounds like a good session beer - Ive had a couple Firewalkers, but I think they were maybe their sours (it's been a while since I visited my brother in No Cali). Nice review!