Friday beers #3: Yuzu Forest beer by Zebra Craft

in BEER2 years ago (edited)

Again a very delayed beer review from an owl-coholic :D

Many a year ago I set off on my journey into the world of alcohol in a small bar in Kyoto. I was offered an umeishu on the rocks. Umeishu is a liqueur made from Japanese plums. It is not just sweetness with a fruity flavour. Its profile is a bit complex it has a nutty tartness to it. After that I slowly began to fall in love with the more mature flavours you can find in beer (but also in gin, whiskey and rum :D ). Anyway, I still like my vitamins. So I was quite intrigued when I saw a Yuzu-beer!


WeChat Image_20211227022626.jpg

Yuzu are a type of mandarin-oranges which have a lemony-yellow peel. In Japan it is quite common to find Yuzu-drinks as a non-alcoholic beverage from the vending machine. It is then mixed with honey and it leave the machine pre-heated. It is great for when you have a sore throat. Besides Yuzu drinks I absolutely love Yuzu marmelade which is korean thing.


image.png
Nikita from Russian Federation, CC BY 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Anyway, this is an alcoholic post so let's get back to the beer-review!

Taste was a bit disappointing. Looking at the ingredients it seems like it was made using Yuzu juice as opposed to the peel (for example for Limoncello you would use lemon peel because the tasty oils can be extracted using alcohol). This yuzu beer pretty much tastes like yuzu juice, with sweeteners mixed together with beer. I suppose for a summer day wouldn't be that bad. But I suspect that you won't be far off if you put lemon juice, sugar and a light beer together :(

Next week try something new again^^


Cat tax

WeChat Image_20211227022631.jpg

Sort:  

I like the funny shape of the glass on the first picture (and I am very curious about this beer)!

On my side, I just tried the special Xmas beer from Cambron Abbey brewery last Monday.

If the there is a lot of foam it looks a bit like a mountain :3

Oh so that's a Trappist beer. I haven't had a Trappist beer in ages. They are so expensive here (T.T)

Strictly speaking, it is not a Trappist beer (there are only 14-15 of these all around the world) but an Abbey beer (there are hundreds of those in Belgium and many more in other countries).

I assume they are as expensive in the Netherlands (you live there, aren't you?) as in France. This is why I fill the car with (full) bottles of beer when I drive to Belgium once in a while.

I am still in China. So I cannot drive a car to Belgium :3

I will be back in NL around the summer ^^

Ah yeah... definitely too far to get a decent Belgian beer at a decent price ;)

I'm not a big fan of terribly syrupy or juice beers either. But! There's always another beer to be had. The next one will be better!

syrupy or juicey are unbeerable :3

Thanks for stopping by ^^

Seems it would be very tasty. Sorry it was disappointing.
Looks like the cat got its fill.

I think cats are in a somewhat permanent tipsy state

I tend to agree. My cats act like they are tipsy a great deal. For some reason, they like to do it in the middle of the night when everyone is trying to sleep.

A !BEER from me for the cat

I will try to find some cat-beer for her =^..^=

Dear @mathowl,

Do you mind supporting the HiveBuzz proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

 2 years ago  

Hey @mathowl, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.