Back to classics! Põhjala Imperial Baltic Porter

in BEER3 years ago

Well... to be honest, I’m a bit bored lately with all the fancy sounding funky beers, which are mixed with various different herbs, fruits and other stuff, completely ignoring the Reinheitsbebot, by which beer should be made using only Barley, Hops and Water... Yeah, the modern craft beers are always interesting and something new, but the average craft beer drinker seems to have forgotten a bit the old Pillar styles.

img_3944.heic

The Põhjala Imperial Baltic Porter is really something that I was missing lately. And if you are not sure about the purity, here’s the ingredient list.

img_3946.heic
Only Barley, water, hops and yeast... not even lactose, which is greatly used in the most of the heavy and thick beers nowadays.

This beer pours absolutely thick in the glass and with its 10,5% alcohol content promises to be a heavy kicker. With heavier beers you are supposed to go a bit warmer with the consuming temperature. 10 degrees centigrade are the absolute minimum, in order for the beer to flourish with aromas. Mine was at 7 degrees in the fridge, so it needed a bit of time to stay at room temperature and become a bit warmer.

img_3947.heic

In the mouth the beer is absolutely brilliant and brings beautiful coffee and toffee aromas. A bit of dark chocolate makes company here. Hops are there, but not overwhelming. They just make nice company to the dark malts.

img_3949.heic

And yes, the beer is as dark as the Estonian Winter nights, which is also stated on the label of the beer. The only light comes from the moon. Even the fancy labels are an missing in the Põhjala’s style. Just basic info about the beer you are drinking.

img_3951.heic
I think it was going to go well even in these small brandy glasses. Looks brilliant, huh? And with almost 11% alcohol is really like wine, or maybe thick as brandy! I like it a lot. And I’m happy that I had a classic beer, because to be honest I have forgotten the pleasure of consuming a nice pure beer.

Cheers and see you soon!

Sort:  

There is not much better than a classic porter - particularly in winter - time to get back to the classic !BEER s

 3 years ago  

Hey @mdosev, here is a little bit of BEER from @harveyword for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This beer pours absolutely thick in the glass and with its 10,5%

Yep, that qualifies as a heavy kicker!!

Good points around the modern vs traditional beers as well. I'm guilty of it myself, as i almost exclusively review IPAs, as that's what I like. I've tried craft stouts and porters and not really my thing. I love a good red wine and of course Guinness, so when I'm not drinking an IPA, those are what i reach for. Horses for courses as they say 🍻

I love west coast IPAs too, but always enjoy having a different one.
Cheers!