I summoned the Gods of the winter with some Baltic spirits. Kinda worked this time…

in BEERlast year (edited)

It would be perfect if we had a proper winter this year. It’s already February and we didn’t have snow at all, until recently. The kids were waiting with anticipation this moment for months now and all they got until last week was some pretty rainy autumn like days.

So I decided… it was time for some spiritual stuff and what sound better than summoning the Winter gods with some Baltic Porter? I mean, not only that I did not have one in more than a year, but the weather wasn’t very favorable too.

The Fortune Tammer sounded like a good beer, and at least perfect for what I had in mind. It is a proper Baltic Porter brewed in a collaboration between a Bulgarian brewery (Sofia Electric Brewery) and an Polish one (Pinta). I think these collaborations are becoming more and more popular. I start to wonder what does one brewery have that is better than the other. I mean, of course it would be some difference in the tech and brewing gear, but every one comes with his own ideas and because of that craft beer world is such a wonderful and colorful place.

Anyway, let’s proceed to the beer and the ritual itself. The ritual began with opening the can. During this act we can smell a very pleasant aroma of chocolate and cacao flavors. Don’t skip this step! It will not wake the winter gods. The hissing sound is what awakes them. Next, you shall pour the beer in a clean glass, and you will have to raise it in order to make gods see the black gold. They will have to make sure that everything’s right about the winter spirit of the beer.

When they see it’s dark color they will boost the aroma and flavor of the beer. They really want to know that this is not some kind of a trick. And well, this brew of 10,5% alc truly has some body deepness and complex taste profile. The sweetness is brilliant and you can feel some vanilla notes after the heavy chocolate and cacao flavor.

The bitterness is low, the carbonation is low, absolutely normal for a 10%+ beer. It drinks quite easily and very enjoyable. There’s nothing wrong with this black beauty. The only thing that seems improper is that it seems to end quite fast. I need more time to enjoy it!

After the ritual of drinking this you have to completely end your drink. The winter gods will be happy to see that you liked their favorite drink. I think this was my best option and opportunity to see some snow around.

I guess it sort of worked. A week or so later we had our first snowfall for the season and the kids were happy. Although the snow didn’t stay in ground at the city, there was a plenty of it in the nearby mountain. I think that I had to prey heavily in order to boost the amount of snowfall, eh? What do you think? It’s maybe time for another dark beer… soon!

Until then, I’ll leave you enjoy the winter, when it still around, and if you are in the northern hemisphere. Other people will have to just wait for another season or two. I’m leaving you here and I’m continuing with my daily tasks now. See you again and have fun!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Sounds like a really good beer!
I really like the can a lot.

Besides, it seems that the winter gods like it, so I really think I'll have to taste it eh eh!
If it can make it snow here in southern Italy it's truly miraculous!😉

Your task may be even harder based on your location then… 😆
You will need a lot of cans, but they can eventually come and bring some snow to you!

Well let's say that in my land the maximum cold we have is 12 degrees, on the other hand during the summer we reach 40 eh eh!

I mean I'll drink at least six... do you think that's enough?

I think it's not the choice of the brewery that makes the difference but the choice of the ingredients. !BEER

 last year  

Hey @mdosev, here is a little bit of BEER from @svanbo for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .