Orval: three different beers in one bottle?

in BEER2 years ago (edited)

Today I want to talk about one of the most special and unique beer in the world.

The beer comes from Orval Brewery, which is a Trappist brewery within the walls of the Abbaye Notre-Dame d'Orval in the Gaume region of Belgium.

The early history of production beer and wine in this monastery goes back to the 17th century, till 1795, the fire accident, monastery was producing beverage and afterwards it was closed due to the lack of resources. The present day brewery was build in 1931, designed by Henry Vaes.

What's unique about the beer is that if you talk about it in long-run process, you are getting three beers in one bottle, which definitely is surprising.

The style of beer is Belgian Pale-Ale and it also is dry-hopped between the first and second fermentation process, so at the same time with all this malty flavour, it carries huge hoppy profile as well. It comes with approximately 6.2% ABV, depending on age it might be anywhere from 5.9% to 6.9% ABV.

In my opinion I devide the beer into 3 periods, first one is till 9 months, second one from 9 months to 2.5 years and third one after 2.5 years.

When I drank fresh Orval, I had a feeling, that I was drinking very smooth, refreshing, crisp Pale Ale and also due to dry-hopping process the beer is extra dry with huge hoppy aromas, which is quite pleasing.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-18 at 5.08.37 PM.jpeg

But as you guys already know, approximately after 9 month, hops start to die in the liquid and the beer gets more malty, which is very usual thing, but the fact that Orval is adding wild yeast in the bottle for the secondary fermentation is at least very rate or maybe the only one in the world.

So afterwards, when I drank Orval which was 1 year old, I got slightly funky flavours with all the malty profile, it was little bit sour in the aftertaste and aroma was mostly sourish green apples, I can easily say that I loved the beer, because I never tasted that kind of mixture in Pale Ale before. I was told that the yeast they use in the secondary fermentation in very well known wild yeast from Belgium, called Brett, which you mostly get in Lambic style beers.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-18 at 12.33.06 PM.jpeg

The story does not end here, I was lucky enough to get my hands on 5 years old Orval, which was found in Spain, Madrid. This is when the wild yeast really comes in the game, I was literally shocked when I tasted the beer, it was very hazy, very thick and all I was getting was the flavours from wild yeast, very funky, very sour, very strong. It was like Lambic and all this result was from the secondary fermentation of course with yeast, in the backbone and taste it was carrying very interested malty flavour as well, but this sourness and Lambic vibe was just perfect for the beer.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-18 at 12.33.05 PM.jpeg

So I easily this beer in my top 5 beer list, very rare, very unique and extremely interesting beer to age.

Sort:  

This is very intersting! I'm in aging beers and wines as well too. Leffe (not really improved), Duvel (you could discuss if it improved, it's definitely "different") and Westmalle Absolutley improving the beer to name a few of them. It's very surprising for me to hear that Orval would change the taste towards Lambic tasts and gets sourness. I'll definitely try this! Apart from beer I've got wine I'm aging. I've been opening a chateau Branaire from 1976 for my birthday last month (Grand Cru Classé 1855) and recently I've been opening an Cotes de Castillon (Bordeaux) and Minervois (south of France) from the year 2000. All splendid wines and definitely worth to try and to see what the evolution was after all these years (well, the Chateau Branaire I didn't taste at the time as a young wine obviously, but the two others I did) !LUV

A !BEER from me for your good taste.

Feel invited to he #BeerSaturday where the community love to read more

About the #BeerSaturday, I'll certainly come back to it, but I don't find the time to write longer posts...

Make cool pics and just 200 to 250 words - no books dear @svanbo

 2 years ago  

Hey @svanbo, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That is a really nice one from the trappist beers and the aging of beer is another story.

Some weeks ago I had a Chimay which aged in old whiskey barrels. The taste was in many different direction.

Love to have you with such a post for the actual #BeerSaturday week 260, where you may win some funds to get some more beer.

How did you get to something like that?

That was a special tasting set with 3 different bottles and 2 tasting glasses

I think I made a post about that some month ago, but I'm not sure

And you can buy this just like this in a shop in Germany? Or you can order these over the internet? !LUV