#BeerSaturday: Sante Adairius Chavez

in BEERlast year

Hello there, outwars here. I'm a fairly new appreciator of beer. I was recently enlightened to the different flavors beer has to offer and I try to document my journey through it. For my #BeerSaturday post I will share my experience with Sante Adairius's Chavez beer.

My Sister had work, but my brother in law still wanted to show me around the bay area. Since it's the weekend and he wanted to drink some beer, he decided that we should go to a nearby bar that serves craft beers on tap.

IMG20221112145815.jpg

After a short drive, we arrived at Sante Adairius Oakland Arbor. From the outside it looked like a rather small place. The style of the place reminded me of bars shown in the movies. Maybe it was because of the lighting.

I ordered the Chavez, and my brother in law ordered one of the IPAs. We then headed into the back of the place where there was a nice open air patio. It appears to be pet friendly since the group there had a dog with them. I didn't take a picture since I didn't want to include the group in it.

IMG20221112145640.jpg

The Chavez is an American Porter from the Sante Adairius Rustic Ales Brewery in California, USA. It has a 6.5% ABV. It has a dark brown color with a small amount of head. I can smell the aroma of coffee and chocolate. For the taste, I could taste the slight coffee and chocolate flavor. It was very light with a dry finish. I noticed that I really prefer Stouts and Porters now. This one was very drinkable, and I can see myself getting this more often if I can.

In my stay with my sister I have bonded well with her husband. All three of us likes a lot of similar things; Anime, Gaming, and [lately for me] Beer. While drinking our beer we talked a lot about the different anime they introduced me to, the FF7 remake we are playing, and about how my preference for beer has been changing a lot lately.

IMG20221112141807.jpg

After a while we decided that it was time to leave since my sister will be coming home soon. We headed to the front and my brother in law wanted to buy some beer before we leave. Since they like the beers here but don't come too often, he bought a lot of bottles and a dozen cans to take home. Of course some of them were Saison since my sister loves it, and she wasn't able to come.

The bartender made a mistake of not including one of the bottles in the bill, but he was actually very nice about it. Maybe because we bought a lot, he said that it was ok and just gave it to us for free. My brother in law was very thankful and just gave him a big tip.

IMG20221112145739.jpg


My Grade

Chavez

80/100

It was a very easy to drink Porter. It had just the right amount of complex tastes to keep it interesting, but not too much where it becomes too overwhelming. I would choose some of the previous beer's I've reviewed/tasted over it, but this is a beer that I can drink constantly.

Sort:  

Cheers, Prost and !BEER

Great post - thanks

Thank you.

 last year  

Hey @outwars, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That bar looks nice, a small but cosy place for taking beer. Though I imagine it full of people, chatting and having food time. And getting one bottle for free, it was a nice gesture from the bartender ;)

There were a few four seater tables inside, and a large open air patio at the back. But the area by the bar is definitely where it's at when you're having fun with friends. And yeah, I was surprised with the free bottle, instead of just asking us to pay again. I can assume they have really good profits to be able to do that.