Harvesting Hops From Our Backyard

in BEER4 years ago (edited)

“Bob didn’t want to be known as that fat guy who drinks cheap beer. Given no viable alternative, Bob started drinking good beer.”

I’ve wanted to write a story that starts off like that. Haven’t done so yet. One of these days, one of these days…

We’ve been growing Cascade hops for several years. They had been in the side yard until this spring when the neighbors started a construction project that spilled over into our yard. Gee, thanks for asking first!

Before they destroyed everything (the bozos were using power equipment barefoot with no eye protection) we transplanted the hops to just beyond the back deck where there’s a trellis for them to grow on. I had no idea if hops could be transplanted. According to some sources, hops are delicate creatures that need just the right soil pH, a careful balance of micronutrients, and tender loving care. Other sources claim they grow like weeds, just toss ‘em in the ground and they’ll be fine.

They grew like crazy this year, so I’m going with the whatever school of thought.


F14422BF-E6D8-4916-B507-EC62DB0E15C5.jpeg


17D1FD43-40AA-4FBF-87BB-FCDAA85EFD54.jpeg


E83A1DEA-8AC1-4B4D-9323-77F3E5D6E79B.jpeg

Hops cling to anything and everything thanks to teeny hook-like thingies that probably have a name, best to wear gloves and long-sleeved arm protection when harvesting them:


F4378B08-B2DD-40D9-89B7-62C24A84B5EB.jpeg

Spread out, ready for the dehydrator, with Mylar bags and oxygen absorbers at the ready:


E0BD61F4-0CC5-4C7C-82A0-1C3C9E883BBB.jpeg

In theory they can dry overnight at no more than 140°F but I prefer to err on the safe side and do them at 130°F for a day and a half. Into the dehydrator:


3301B03C-0029-4DF2-A10C-9D2C3262F20B.jpeg

All packed and ready for the freezer:


A52B808F-57C6-4D80-B56B-25D282FC9119.jpeg

Not sure what type of homebrew these eventually will be used in, possibly a Black IPA.

BF94AEF6EE1F4649A8CCC739E7C43C7A.jpeg

🍺 Please use one of my Cryptobrewmaster referral links: https://tinyurl.com/cryptobrewmaster
🍺 or
🍺 https://www.cryptobrewmaster.io/game/invite?ref=632f2f10eb0144e8b76cc7896aa619fe&code=AlphaBonus

BA732FFB39EA460E871A5F7EE2773E11.png
Badge thanks to @arcange

The orientation is wrong for three of these photos. Why is Condenser so hit or miss?

Sort:  

Man you have this beerologist jealous as hell and wondering why I have not cultivated hops already! When I do, you will be the first to know. In the meantime, is it at all possible for you to harvest a couple rhizomes and mail them to me for planting? Is that how it is done?

Hmmm... we started with two rhizomes I ordered from Northern Brewer. When we transplanted, it was a bit of a mess, bits and pieces where I wasn’t sure what was viable and what wasn’t. Much as I’d like to help you out, this definitely isn’t the right time of the year. Rhizomes should be planted in the spring. And I’d have to learn about how to ship them, I know that mold can be a problem, not sure about the best way to ship. There are all kinds of laws about shipping living things from one country to another, no idea about hops though.

Sadly, it might be easiest to order them from a Canadian source. I don’t remember the cost, but it wasn’t unreasonable. You could have a !BEER and DuckDuckGo a Canadian home brew supplier.

A Black IPA with hops who grow yourself - I'm kinda jealous - I wish I had the space to grow hops, but alas my apartment isn't really going to work.

I'm waiting for your homebrew, these hops look promising! !BEER

 4 years ago  

Hey @preparedwombat, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.