You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Epic Saturday Night Out - So Epic I've Only Just Got Over the Hangover

in BEER2 years ago

Hi @mrprofessor

Yes, for sure it was my birthday and I'll say thank you for the birthday wishes.
I just hesitated (and eventually decided against) stating the exact day in the last 10 that my actual birthday was on.

I met someone in a discord room I Worked in around 2017/18 who called himself (his blogging name) futurethinnker, and he would reveal no details about himself. Eventually I got the story out of him about how he'd let out too much information about himself on the internet somewhere before steem and had had his identity stollen along with a fair amount of crypto.

Ever since hearing his sad tale I am very cautious about staying partly anan on hive, and everywhere else on the internet. I no longer have facebook, Whatsapp or instagram and I don't miss them.

I hope that explains my slightly cryptic wording in this article. It was indeed my birthday very recently, and I had my main celebration for it with the friends you can see in the pics on Saturday. But Saturday wasn't the actual date of my birth lol

Sort:  

Yup, you are absolutely right about preserving information.. especially for those who are not cautious with passwords (using dates, pet names, etc).

Life without FB/Instagram is a bless. My nemesis lately is Youtube though -- so so useful for so many things, but also a huge time catcher.