Beer Saturday : 3 Floyds Zombie Dust

in BEER3 years ago

PXL_20210619_221128815.jpg

My #beersaturday entry is another pale ale, or should I say "undead pale ale." It's one of my favorites, and it hails from Munster, Indiana.

PXL_20210619_221143748.jpg

Most people know of 3 Floyds and their Dark Lord days. You may know the drill; show up to a brewery, stand in line for 24-36 hours, and hope you have a chance to spend quite a bit of money on limited edition beer. I have never done this, but I know a few folks that have. Everyone loves Dark Lord but I think their pale ales are pretty tasty too. Zombie Dust is definitely my favorite.

PXL_20210619_221159304.jpg

It's a very smooth beer. Copper in color, a little hazy, and sessional at 6.5% ABV. The beer isn't overly hoppy; you can taste the bitterness at 62 IBUs. Very good stuff, and how about that artwork?? That's actually the work of comic book artist Tim Seeley.

PXL_20210619_233054991.jpg


PXL_20210619_233103286.jpg


PXL_20210619_233115513.jpg

I read that a good summer solstice dinner, if you aren't vegan/vegetarian, is to grill up some beef. Apparently, those pagans of old celebrated the Sun's peak by sacrificing bulls, and to pay tribute to the eons-old traditions, grill up some steaks. Hey, I'm game, so while drinking the Zombie Dust, I did just that. I fired up the Weber charcoal, and away I went.

PXL_20210619_220909321.jpg

I use the indirect grill method and reverse sear our steaks, and I have to say, they turn out really well. The meat is savannah-fed beef per our wonderful meat CSA...we are just lucky to have such a fantastic farm near ys.

PXL_20210619_221959889.jpg

Yum! Medium rare, and only one and a half Zombies in, I couldn't screw it up too bad, lol.

So yeah, and undead pale ale, bone-in ribeyes, and some garden-grown bok choy on the side. You can't beat that for an early Solstice dinner, right?

Thanks for stopping by and checking this one out. Happy Solstice and #beersaturday to everyone out there! I'm hoping everyone is having a wonderful weekend as well.

If you are a hop head too, don't forget to check out the weekly fun:

https://peakd.com/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-week-208

Sort:  

That meat and that beer seem like a perfect combination and a bloody good afternoon.

it was delicious...and the Bucks won too! Quite a Saturday, lol

I love the graphics of that !BEER can, and the meat looks great too!!

Not a bad early Father's Day evening, whatsoever - thanks!

 3 years ago  

Hey @sagesigma, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.