Beer Saturday : Toppling Goliath's Ferrari Backpack

in BEER3 years ago

PXL_20210613_012311583.jpg

Toppling has been throwing out new beers left and right, of late. Yesterday's #beersaturday offering was no different. I went to our local co-op at lunch and unexpectedly ran into this beer. With a late May fill date, this was an easy grab (despite the price tag)!

PXL_20210613_012056219.jpg

This is another collaboration brew, this time with the Des Moines brewer Lua Brewing. This is an imperial IPA, it's hazy, and the hop bill is unique yet again. I have not tried anything from Lua before, but I"m assuming they are a hop forward style brewer as well.

PXL_20210613_012112280.NIGHT.jpg

It's another strong one where you don't taste the booze. My favorite kind of doubles, although I know that these kind of doubles equal trouble, too. This one is a solid 7.8% ABV, and comes in a four-pack wrap of 16 oz cans.

PXL_20210613_012243787.NIGHT.jpg


PXL_20210613_012259159.jpg


PXL_20210613_012303617.jpg

It's a good one. It's everything I expected it to taste like; it's hazy and hoppy, rich and strong. Yet...it was a little bit light for me in profile. I gave it a 4.00 on Untappd, but saw much better ratings online. It's a good beer, but just a tad too light in something for me to give it more than 4.0/5.0.

So what did I do while enjoying this brew. Well, as fortune would have it, the Navy's Blue Angels were in town for an airshow. We didn't go to the show, but I did pull up a lawn chair in the backyard and watched the warbirds fly overhead. Thankfully, I had my Pixel along to snag some photos too.

PXL_20210613_203758100.jpg


PXL_20210613_203802182.jpg


PXL_20210613_203802983.jpg

Loud for sure, but the Toppling was nice to drink while taking it in!

Hoping everyone else out there had a beautiful and relaxing #beersaturday too!

If you too enjoy beer, by the way, check out the link to detlev's weekly posting. I always enjoy sharing a new beer with the community when I can:

https://peakd.com/hive-187719/@detlev/two-o-seven-week-of-beersaturday

Thanks for stopping by and checking this one out, as always.

Sort:  

wow, nice pics and a cool !BEER

thank you - the Toppling just won't stop up here! It's eating my wallet away every weekend !

Amazing beer and airshow - well now you have everything

lol, well I enjoyed it; our dog, Ms Mabel, not so much. I won't lie...I was wondering where those planes were going to crash land if problems arose while watching the whole time. Not even an imperial could get rid of that (slight) worry!

Mmmm that looks a "tasty beverage" 👍

They keep on rolling out too many new ones...hard for me to keep up!

That beer has a nice colour, i wanna taste it :D

yeah, you can't go wrong with any of their IPAs - delicious stuff

Congratulations @sagesigma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

 3 years ago  

Hey @sagesigma, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.