Beer Saturday : Toppling Goliath's Scorpius Morchella

in BEER3 years ago

PXL_20210523_013757831.jpg

My entry for #beersaturday includes yet another Toppling classic; Scorpius Morchella. Before I get into this one too far, I'm just going to say I gave this one a 4.5/5.00 on Untappd. Yes, it's that good.

PXL_20210523_013631268.jpg


PXL_20210523_013618712.jpg

As you can see from this banged-up wrap, this is the brewery's spring beer. Who needs a maibock when you can have a double IPA at 7.8% ABV and 100 IBU? No morels, but the hazy DIPA was so tasty. With 80F temps and high humidity here, these went down very quickly yesterday.

PXL_20210523_013806129.jpg

Solid bubbly head, wonderful hop nose, and as always with these, no booze taste in the beer. Scarily easy to drink, but on a hot day like yesterday, I didn't complain. The hop bill is "top secret", of course, per Toppling, but I tasted some New Zeland in it.

PXL_20210523_013821662.jpg

No grilling yesterday on account of the high May heat, but we ended up doing some take out instead that was delicious too. I also picked up my first Lego Technic kit thanks to the helpful advice of @galenkp. I started it with our daughter earlier in the day, but couldn't stop tinkering around with it after she went to bed. I went ahead of finished the four-pack while finishing up the first phase of the kit. Legos and DIPAs. what a fantastic combo!

PXL_20210523_014034818.jpg


PXL_20210523_035818182.jpg

Don't worry...I double-checked my work this morning. Only one minor mess up, but we're in good shape again. Thanks to Hattie's help again this morning, we're on to phase two. With some luck, we'll be driving it around the backyard by June.

Thanks for checking this one out; happy spring to all. Hoping everyone had a great beer weekend too. One of these days, we'll get Hive meet up together in Iowa. I promise you all, we'll get there one of these days.

Sort:  

Nice that looks like a delicious beer! I don’t know if I’ve had a double IPA, what makes it double? I love the hazy, yellow spring beers like that! One of my favorites indeed. Combine that with some fun LEGO and you’ve got quite a day of fun I say!

I think the double implies a bit more alcohol...which to be honest, made legos a bit more interesting Sat night, lol. If you ever see any of the Topplings in your area (and get them within a month of their fill date listed on the top of the wrap), I'd recommend it. Such good beer - all of their hazys are delicious.

Cheers! This !BEER looks very good. And a LEGO creation too :) 🍻 🍺 😎

thank you! Still working on it, but getting closer to a final lego creation every day .

Looks like Banana juice😆

ha, and with the hops in it...maybe just as nutritious? I'm sure the cloudiness totally negated that acholol (that's what I'm telling myself, anyway)

Nice work ! Happy day !BEER

Thanks! The drinking part was easy...my 44 year old brain had to evolve back into a lego mindset (which was a lot of fun!)

Another solid looking IPA. I must say, all ghe beers you post look lovely, i can almost smell the hops through the descriptions and photos! 😃

I hear you...I can't get enough of the cloudy IPAs. It's my go to style all of the time, for better or worse.

A good go to. I love them as well 🍻

Like it

 3 years ago  

Hey @sagesigma, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Waoo ... really with this degree of alcohol is a real scorpion.