Beer Saturday : Bell's Double Two Hearted Ale

in BEER4 years ago

20200930_211629.jpg

Here is a special treat I found at my local co-op today in the single-serve section; Bells Double Tow Hearted Ale. I should let you know now; I'm biased with Bell's. Their Two Hearted used to be a top 10 beer in the world, years before the current craft beer movement. And I agree; I love Two Hearted. It might actually be the one IPA I've drunk the most of in my life.

20200930_211708.jpg

Five years ago I visited their brewery in Kalamazoo, Michigan; Bell's was definitely a "grail" brewery I had always wanted to visit, and at the time, you could only get the double Two Hearted on-site, and on tap. If memory serves me well, it was absolutely delicious.

20200930_211718.jpg

This is an intense beer. Coming in at 11% ABV with 91 IBU, this beer is most certainly very smooth. The booze is present, for certain; the Centennials do a good job balancing the malt and alcohol taste out. It's very rich, and with a production date of fewer than 30 days in age, this is one fresh ale.

20200930_211746.jpg

There are 40,000 some check-ins on Untapd, and the mean score out of 5 is 4.16. I'm going to give it a 4.25. This is a good beer, but I don't think I'd be able to put a six-pack of this down in a session. Maybe I could, but I'm confident this is what I would see later that day:

20200930_211632.jpg

Highly recommended if you are a fan of Bell's; I'd still opt for Two Hearted first, but this is a good one to mix in now and then.

I hope everyone is having a safe, enjoyable, and wonderful October Saturday night. Thanks for stopping by and taking a read.

Sort:  

mmmmmmm beeeeer.

Enough said you reckon?

in my best Homer Simpson voice too 🤣

Love it! I had one today actually. I've been losing some weight, not that I'm fat or anything, just wanted to sharpen up a little, and decided to reward myself with a Stella Artois. Why not right? Ok, I had a Great Northern too. Just those two though, I promise.

hmmm i had a few too many San Miguels last night. The weekend though has turned into another working weekend. Had to as there were people wanting to do dives and discover scubas. Can't say no right now

Hey mate, a nice little post here which I have curated for @curangel. I guess that last image is what you see after a few of these beers right? Things looking a little out of focus! Great addition to the post, makes it more real for the reader! :)

FYI if you have any weekendy content feel free to use the Engage the weekend Community - A community dedicated to the weekend!

Hey thanks! I'll definitely check out the engage the weekend community! Glad you appreciated the "beer vision" image! thank you for stopping by!

I hope to see you around the place some more. Have a great week.

Thanks again - looking forward to contributing to the weekend community! I have some ideas, and I'm beginning to appreciate the folks on Hive more by the day - have a great week too!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Sometimes we forget how amazing some of the classic beers that started the craft beer revolution are - and to have a mean score that high on untappd means it must be pretty darn good

I know, right? I remember reading Michael Jackson's book years ago (something like the best 50 beers in the world, I think), and all of those beers for the most part are long forgotten. Two Hearted was the American IPA for years, and for the most part, it's passed over now for other more "exciting" IPAs

hello dear friend @sagesigma good night
Excellent beer that you introduce us today, a strong beer with great alcoholic power, here we only use beers that go from l 4.8 to 5.00 vol%
Good that you were able to visit the brewery that I longed to visit.
I appreciate that you have shown us this beer and all your information, excellent tasting

have a beautiful night and a happy rest