Drinking an Abbey style ale and making a black and tans for #Beersaturday

in BEER2 years ago (edited)

This #beersatruday was my mother in laws birthday so we had a small get together at our house. We enjoyed a few beers with everyone.

I started this #beersaturday with a Abbey Style beer brewed by Jackrabbit Brewing. Jackrabbit brewing is located in West Sacramento, California and has been around since 2013. Abbey ales always sound good but the range of flavors in Abbey style ales is so wide, I am not always fan.

Abbey ales are brewed in the same style as a Trappist Ale, with the exception that Abbey ales do not need to be brewed in a Monastery / Abbey. Abbey ales are usually dark and sweet but can be brewed using wheat. Some Abbey ales can be light in color but what all Abbey ales seem to be is sweet.

The Abbey Ale from Jackrabbit Brewing was a dark amber color and is 6% ABV. This beer was just average it did have the sweet taste expected with this style. The beer did have a different smell that doesn't smell like any other beer. The smell was not bad just lacking that hoppy smell.

While we had guests over we brought our newly adopted female miniature horse "Olivia" and our 5 month old male Siberian husky "Timber" out on our lawn to visit with the guests.

Once everyone left my wife and I had a few more on the back deck near the firepit.

I made a few black and tans using my homebrewed IPA and Guinness. To make the black and tan I used my favorite tool, which I have shown before in photos, so this time I figured I would make a video to show how well it works.

The tool is called a Black and Tan Turtle and made by Lagerhead. It really is the easiest tool I have found to float Guinness on top of your favorite beer or cider.

I hope everyone was able to enjoy this #beersaturday and look forward to next week.