Beer Tasting: Ugly Duckling & Dragon Stout

in BEER16 days ago

Hello, beer lovers! 🍻

How are you? Here we have gone from tropical heat to almost winter a few days ago, everything is already blooming and the temperatures are just above zero Celsius.
Apart from a family lunch and participation in #beersaturday, the 355th, there are no other activities today.

As for, let's say, evening dessert :), I have two interesting dark beers waiting for me, one Slovenian and one Jamaican.

I am interested to see how they do. First, the one with less alcohol.

Crazy Duck Ugly Duckling

Brewed by Crazy Duck Brewery, Žiri, Slovenia.
Bottle, 0.33 l, alcohol 5.7% ABV, IBU N/A.
It's a Stout, precisely Stout-Milk style, which means dark-colored, sweet, slightly roast coffee and cream taste.

What do the Master Brewers say?

Ugly duckling is a very special type of stout. Like the black duck in its litter, this beer stands out from the rest in style. It is a lighter stout and the addition of oatmeal makes it creamy, drinkable and full-bodied. The roasted barley ensures that the taste doesn't go away, leaving a lingering and strong roasted aftertaste. Taste it!

🍺
I tried the Crazy Duck beer last week and it wasn't bad.

The beer is dark, almost black, there is very little head and even that disappears. It has no smell. A sip goes down my throat smoothly, and I taste the bitterness of coffee and dark chocolate. Slightly sweet. I don't taste any hops at all, the bitterness of roasted malt lingers for a while and then disappears.

It is fresh and drinkable but without any special features. It's different from the stouts I've tried so far. I would say milder. It's like pouring another dash of water into an expresso. Nothing distinctive, but drinkable.
Probably won't be in my fridge, although it's available in local shops.

🍻 😎 🍻

As I mentioned, today there was only a family lunch at stake. No other activities. Still quite plentiful. Don't tell anyone I had red wine for lunch. Refosco :)

🍻 😎 🍻

🍻 😎 🍻

Desnoes & Geddes Dragon Stout

Brewed by Desnoes & Geddes, Kingston, Jamaica.
I couldn't find the brewery's website, maybe because Heineken bought it ten years ago?
Bottle, 0.284 l, alcohol 7.5% ABV, IBU 50.
It's Stout-Extra or Stout-Tropical style, dark beer with roasted malt, less bitterness and roast flavors with higher fruitiness.

What do the Master Brewers say?

Black malt; corn syrup; caramel malt; and hop extract. Priming sugar is used when bottling.

🍺
They didn't say anything special about this beer, we'll have to taste what it's all about.

The beer is dark, almost black, the head is solid, brownish, and disappears quickly. It has no smell. A sip goes down the throat smoothly, I taste the sweetness of malt, guava, cola, maybe caramel, and later, in the aftertaste, the bitterness of roasted malt remains. I don't feel the alcohol at all.

The beer is drinkable, but although it has an IBU of 50 I didn't detect any hop bitterness, it's more like a bittersweet Coca-Cola. I don't know where to put it. It is, however, apparently very popular in Jamaica. What do I know, it's definitely a beer but it's not the stout I know. I got it from London, two friends brought it to me, and we don't get it here, so it will just remain on this record. But if I ever find myself in Jamaica (unlikely, but never say no) I will look for it.

🍻 😎 🍻

And what am I listening to as I write this and taste the beer? Something from my yesterday #newtunes post. New to me.

Full Flower Moon Band - Illegal Things

Thank you for your attention.

🍻2024 tastings: Woif Goidkinig and Crazy Duck, Brewdog Hazy Jane Guava and Lobik Champion Session IPA, Weihnachts Grantler and Noordung Apollo 17, Morana Midnight Stout and Hirt Rubin Bock, Tektonik Fat Lady and O'Hara's Hop Adventure, Grieskirchner Dunkler and St. Bernardus Tripel, Pink Farts & Unicorns IPL and Hazy Sister NEIPA, First Chop POD & Fruitpocalypse Now!, Hanalei Island IPA & Svarog Solar IPA, Freistädter Black Bock and Gabriau du Poitou Blonde Forte, Brooklyn Defender IPA & Perlenzauber Pale Ale, Camba WinterZauber & La Cervoise des Ancêtres, Bohemian Lager and Bamberger Rauchbier, General Maister IPA and Steamworks IPL, Saso Mange Choppy APA

More stories about beers? You can go back a little further in history! 😁

🍻 2017 🍻 2018 🍻 2019 🍻 2020 🍻 2021 🍻 2022 🍻 2023 🍻

Enjoy your beer!

u9su13.png

Take a look into Beer Community
if you want to read more Beer adventures.


And if you want to share your beer experience,
post your story to the Hive BeerSaturday challenge for fun.

BEER token is ready for you, too :)

Thanks, @detlev who started all this

Support and vote for our detlev.witness!

Also consider voting for those exeptional witnesses: @good-karma, @liotes, @fbslo.

5% of this post's earnings will go to community beneficiaries (@beerlover).

And here's something else:
There has been a lot of development in Hive core but documentation is outdated and updates are needed. So I invite you to support and vote for Hive devportal updates proposal by @good-karma.

🍻 😎 🍻

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

Sort:  

I haven't had a Dragon Stout in a very long time, probably over 10 years now. I remember liking it back then. I keep seeing it at the store so I should pick it up again. Time for a revisit I think

I got it about a week ago, very tropical and sweet but I didn't feel the alcohol at all, I don't know what would have happened if I had drunk more :)

That food looks amazing - both beers lot pretty good too.

The restaurant where we ate was recommended to me by my wife, who had heard from colleagues that the food was excellent. These two stouts are a bit special, I'm not used to such flavors.

The bitterness of black Beers is what makes me dislike it but I love the sweetness that comes after it…

You don't like coffee and black chocolate flavors?

Have you tried the Ugly Duckling beer, @captainquack22?

No my friend, i have not. But mannnn, im very due to post. Ive done the most power downs ive ever done, to stack up on zing tokens, and its kinda screwed me over a bit so far, but i plan on sticking around, so when i start posting once a day again, or every other day, ill slowly build back up, is what im hoping. I hope things been good and youre rockin as strong as you can my man, see ya soon otherwise.

!PGM
!LUV
!PIZZA
!BEER

Ive done the most power downs ive ever done, to stack up on zing tokens, and its kinda screwed me over a bit so far, but i plan on sticking around

I have not tried the Holozing game so far. I see that their characters are similar to Pokémons. I play Splinterlands, but I would not do big power downs for it. I also play League of Legends: Wild Rift, which is not a blockchain game, but it is very enjoyable. It is one of my favorite video games.

I hope things been good and youre rockin as strong as you can my man, see ya soon otherwise.

Yes. I am good. Thank you. I still write Hive blog posts about my life and about the video games I play.

Good luck and have fun.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

That beer looks cool in that glass, if we were close I will have requested for that glass as a gift.

Happy #BeerSaturday

Well, I take a glass from the kitchen, it looks nearest to beer glasses for dark beers :)
But the glass was bought in an Ikea shop, I think. 😎
!BEER

 5 days ago  

Hey @pazartesi, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hey, a friend actually recommended Dragon stout last week. I'll take this as a sign

Tastes are always subjective, it's certainly not a beer you'd drink every day, but in some heat and steamy weather it can be refreshing if it's cold, of course.
!BEER

 5 days ago  

Hey @danigada18, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@captainquack22(1/10) tipped @xplosive

The lunch looks fancy ✨ bitter beers isn’t a choice I would choose. But you seem to be enjoying the taste 🍻

 5 days ago  

Hey @coffeenlove, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

They are not so bitter beers; I would say they are sweeter with a bitter aftertaste !BEER