Drinking Some Of The Finest Hops On Earth At Monkish Brewing in Southern California

in BEER2 years ago (edited)

I have been to countless breweries and brewpubs over the years but there is one that stands out from all of them for me — Monkish Brewery in Los Angeles, California.

They are popular in the US for their IPA and Belgian-style ales which are delicious. My friend, who's more of a beer aficionado than myself, tells me that Monkish is a frequently traded commodity amongst beer lovers across the US because they make some truly amazing beers!

The brewery itself looks like a funky old office building but once you're inside you feel like you've stepped into a hipster haven.

It has a cozy atmosphere and the smell of fresh baked bread wafts through the air. You can see a small bar area with the brewing equipment in the back.

The beers are projected on a wall and the taps change often. They have a wide variety of beers that they rotate.

The staff is very friendly as well, always offering samples or recommendations if asked. My girlfriend doesn't like too much hops and the staff recommended her a couple of IPAs she liked so I know how good they really are when it comes to helping people find new favorites.

Once we got our beers, we decided to sit inside because it was a little chilly. The interior décor is pretty funky and comfortable, with a hip mural of a monk.
There are lots of wood and stone elements in the room. It has high ceilings and a charming outdoor patio area where you can sit outside while sipping your favorite drink.

There's a cat that hangs around here sometimes who seems to be used by the staff as an unofficial mascot. He sits and wanders quietly around the brewery waiting for someone to pet him. If you want to take a picture, just ask and he will happily pose for you!

For my first beer, I went with a Blonde ale with Galaxy and Strata hops called "Playful." This light amber colored brew had hints of citrusy flavor along with a smooth mouthfeel. It also came served ice cold in a chilled glass. I thought this was a great way to start off the evening. My girlfriend had an IPA called "Monk-Style Proverbs" that featured Citra hops. I took a sip and it was very flavorful with a nice bitter finish.

I actually liked it a lot that I got it for my second round and a bigger size!
Meanwhile, my girlfriend's second beer was a double IPA with Strata and Citra hops called "Going Timeless". It was a deep golden color and had a fruity aroma with a bitter taste. It was very refreshing and went down easy. She seemed to like it a lot and was really excited about it. We were both impressed by the quality of the beer this time around.

Overall, I would highly recommend visiting Monkish. Not only do they serve excellent craft beers, they also provide a fun environment and helpful service. They have a great selection of beer available and rotate throughout the week. It makes a perfect spot for a night out with your partner or your friends.


All images taken by me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sizzlinkola! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!