WooHoo BeerSaturday! Best Part of Autumn is Seasonal Beers!

in BEER4 years ago (edited)

Well, it's holiday weekend here in the U.S.A. For us Labor Day is pretty much the holiday weekend that marks the end of summer. It's really all about taking a break from work and enjoying a little beer and barbecue with friends and family! My kind of holiday weekend!

To me it also means summer is over :( I'm a huge summer person. I love summer weather. The best part about Autumn though is... NO NOT PUMPKIN SPICE! Seasonal beers! Yes it's that time of year when the Oktoberfest beers begin filling the shelves... Oh the deliciousness of it all.

beer4.jpg

One of my favorites is brewed right in my hometown of Western New York by the Genesee Brewing Company. Now, I'm pretty sure I posted about this last season, but they made an announcement that they changed the recipe and I was more than a little concerned! This truly is one of my favorite beers that I look forward to each year around this time... HOW DARE THEY CHANGE THE RECIPE! Well, I'm pleased to say, they did good!

I'm the guy that says "new and improved" usually means "we took the great product you came to know and love and turned it into crap!" I'm happy to report that didn't happen this time around! I wish I could find my pictures from last year, they made a couple slight changes to the can. The beer has a more golden color to it, compared to a more amber color of the previous year. HOPS! I'm not a hops guy, and I know hops are all the rage these days. They honestly added just the right amount of hops! It's much hoppier but not over-powering. Well balanced comes to mind! This beer is improved and tastes fantastic! Kudos to the brewmasters, they've done fantastic!

beer1.jpg

So my plan for this weekend and this #BeerSaturday post is to sit around all weekend drinking one of my favorite local brews, sipping a little whiskey, and playing a little guitar! That's right, This weekend is going to be a beer drinking, whiskey sipping, guitar playing extravaganza!

beer2.jpg

I just recently started playing guitar after a 20 year break and ordered this book of Christmas music to learn. I'm hoping that by the Yuletide season I'll be able to play a few songs in front of people! I would also like to add that this particular Oktoberfest beer pairs very nicely with some good sipping whiskey!

For some more traditional music, I've been learning a little Creedence of course :) Bad Moon Rising! I'm happy to announce I can now play through an entire song without finger pain or my arm aching. Took almost 6 weeks. I think the beer and whiskey help with that too! 🤣

beer3.jpg

So that's where I'm at right now. Sipping a little beer and whiskey, playing a little guitar, and welcoming Autumn with one of my favorite local beers. Wishing you all a wonderful BeerSaturday, a terrific holiday weekend if you're celebrating and if you live in the Western NY, Central NY or Upstate NY area, you really want to give these a try. You won't be disappointed! This is a great local beer at a very reasonable price!

Prosit! from Buffalo NY!

@steevc you drinking anything interesting this BeerSaturday?

Sort:  

Ive never fully developed a taste for the more darker stout beers. I'm pretty much an IPA chaser since I like the citrus aftertaste.

I'm the exact opposite. Dark and stout for me. I do enjoy the occasional IPA though. I think this beer is definitely a nice middle ground though.

Beer, whiskey and guitar sounds like a great combination. Happy to hear they didn't ruin that !BEER. Always a shame when an old favourite gets spoilt.

Keep on strumming and toughening up those fingers.

I had a beer last night, but it was nothing special.

Thanks for the BEER!

I was pretty concerned when I read they changed up the recipe. I really do look forward to the Oktoberfest beers each season and especially this particular one. Turned out good though.

Man, for a little while I didn't think I'd ever lose the fingertip soreness or the muscle fatigue in my arms. Glad that is close to gone now.

You keep strumming too. You were a bit of inspiration in getting me back into guitar. So far, I'm really happy I started playing again. Thanks, cheers, and have a great weekend!

I have online open mic with my friends tonight. I've learned 3 new songs to play for them. I don't like to play the same ones all the time.

That sounds fun! My playing is so sloppy right now. As soon as I get something that sounds tight with bright clean chords I'll post something. I've been playing a lot of blues licks and progressions, and learned a couple real basic classic rock songs. I'm doing pretty good with the Christmas songs though 🤣 I can play a fairly decent fingerstyle of Ode to Joy 🤣 Cheers, brother. Have a great open mic!

Cheers. Need to run through my songs again before we start.

 4 years ago  

Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.