Reflecting on a Negative Incident During My Typical Friday Routine

in Hive PH2 months ago

inbound7262465108006013573.jpg

Hello Hivers 😊 Another day for a new blog! I hope everyone has a great day 😊

inbound5658343335874693324.jpg

Prior last week, my work week from Monday to Thursday was fine, not until Friday came. It was an ordinary Friday as usual and a feeling of excitement always hit me because Friday was flyday and I went home and always spent the weekend with my little family since I'm working ijntje city. I wasn't expecting that something bad happened.

My in-laws came to the city for some business dealings. Initially, I planned to join them, but my mother-in-law informed me they had to make a detour to Pardo, Cebu City for one of her customers. Considering my own errands at the National Bookstore, we decided to rendezvous at SM City instead.

inbound1751339407432276988.jpg

My usual route from Guadalupe Elementary School to SM City involves two rides: first from the school to Emall, then from Emall to SM City. However, it was during this journey that my worst nightmare unfolded.

As the jeepney journey began, everything seemed normal. Passengers got on and off, and I didn't think much of it until we reached City Health in Carreta, Cebu City. That's when a man and two women boarded the jeep. To my surprise, the man sat beside me, so I shifted to give him space. However, his persistent, loud coughing soon caught my attention, sparking worry: Could he have tuberculosis or be infected with Covid? Concerned for my baby at home, I instinctively avoided looking at him, forgetting to check my bag's pocket where my phone was. By the time I realized, it was too late – my phone was gone.

inbound5926133666695811078.jpg
(This was the one thing left from my Honor 90 memory, the extra phone casing)

Upon reaching SM, I exited the jeep and frantically searched my backpack's pocket to no avail. Tears welled up as I recalled the events in the jeep. Seeking help, I approached a lady guard, borrowing a phone to try calling mine, but it was unreachable despite having a full battery. With little hope left, I was advised to go to Parkmall, where the jeep likely stopped before heading to Colon.

However, with no clear description of the thief – only noting his cap, eyeglasses, and a tattoo on his left shoulder – I knew it would be futile. In a last effort to salvage something, I asked the guard for directions to the Smart Network Customer Service to secure the money in my Gcash account.

inbound71344803004608322.jpg

I hurried to the second floor where the Smart Customer Service was located to get my old sim. Despite my hunger, my priority was securing my old number and my Gcash account. I waited with a somber expression amidst the numerous customers ahead of me. After what felt like an eternity, I finally had my new Sim with the same number. My old sim was deactivated, and a new one was activated, thanks to last year's Sim registration which facilitated the process.

Once the new Sim was activated, I politely asked the agent if I could borrow her phone to check if my money was still there. Fortunately, it was, and I also saw a missed call from my husband, whom I promptly called back to update on the situation. He then arranged for his parents to pick me up from our meeting place at SM. Unfortunately, they were already at the boundary of Consolacion and Liloan, trying to reach me unsuccessfully. I arrived at SM at 6:00 PM and wrapped up everything by 9:00 PM.

It proved to be yet another valuable lesson in my life. I gained numerous insights and realizations on that day.

inbound8486681590795465431.jpg

In life, it's essential to remain resilient and composed when faced with unexpected challenges. Fortunately, I maintained my composure during a recent incident, allowing me to strategize effectively to safeguard vital information on my phone, particularly my GCash account.

Memorizing crucial contact numbers for family emergencies is imperative, a task I regrettably overlooked.

Stay vigilant of your surroundings as not everyone harbors pure intentions. Prioritize safety by storing belongings in the main compartment of your bag and regularly checking on them.

inbound397504176397869280.jpg

And I am just grateful and thankful that I am safe because that is what matters most over those material things.

Stay safe, and seek guidance from the Almighty Father..

That’s all for my blog today. My sincerest thanks for taking the time to read and support my blog, until next time. See you!

XOXO ~ @ancrafts

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear about what happened to your phone buti nalang po safe kayo.

Yes po @dandelion24, pinaka importante sa lahat safe.

Thank God you are safe and you think smartly maam @ancrafts. I salute you for that 👏👏👏. You can have a better phone that's for sure.

Thanks for dropping by my blog ma'am @richdreamer. It was the worst but I'm still thankful because I learned from it.

I'm sorry to hear your story maam @ancrafts but gladly you got your money in your gcash account and you are safe too. Be careful next time. Godbless.

Yes ma'am @selflessgem,good thing I was on my way in SM City, it was just easier for me to access in the Smart Customer Service.