HIVE PH CONTEST: IMPROVE YOUR BLOG LIKE A PRO

in Hive PH2 years ago

Heyah fellow hivers here at Hive PH!

I am truly grateful for the Hive PH community's efforts in supporting Filipino bloggers to be the best at what we do on this platform. This contest serves as a self-evaluation of my blogging journey over the last few months. More than just starting my own blog, spending time reading, engaging with, and learning from the works of other bloggers was really beneficial. As a result, I was able to get tips on how to create unique, engaging, and informative blogs.

blog.jpg

Background photo source: Pexels.com

I'm no expert yet, but here are some of the things I've learned along the journey. I've boiled it down into 4Cs to make it simple to understand and remember. Ready? Let's go!

1. CATCHY BLOG TITLE

Your blog title is the first thing readers will see, and it will make an immediate impression on them as to whether or not this site is worth reading. Creating a "catchy blog title" piques readers' interest. I previously had a long blog title that didn't seem to work, despite carefully produced content. There's just so much going on in the headline (lengthy title, hashtags, location), and we don't want to cause readers headaches, do we? Haha. To be honest, I regret doing so, but it was a valuable learning experience for me. With that error, I learned to keep it concise, precise, and interesting.

So, how do you come up with a catchy blog title? Well, I've discovered that incorporating catchy adjectives in your title is a great idea! This is something I discovered through the work of other bloggers. The perfect example is @fitlipinasarah's blog about this, "The underrated medieval destination on the Baltic sea blog." Using the word "underrated" makes you wonder why such a location is underrated, and people want to learn more about it. Also, blogs like @ybanezkim26's "instagrammable" adjective used in his blog piqued my interest as to why the place is so instagram-worthy. So, seek a suitable term for your blog that matches your blog topic perfectly! Avoid long, obvious, and boring captions. Keep your blog title interesting!

viber_image_2022-06-14_15-43-03-884.jpg

Photo source: my screenshot :)

Tips: You can search for numerous synonyms of your desired adjective for your blog title at https://www.thesaurus.com

2. CREATIVE BLOG PHOTO COVER

Your blog photo cover/preview is another factor that readers will notice. This will give them a glimpse of what you are about to share with the readers. You don't have to be a professional photographer to do this; just have a basic understanding of how to capture the image you want to share with the readers. Simply ensure that the photo is clearly captured. Always give credit to the owner or source when utilizing photographs that are not your own.

For my part, I've always strived to go the extra mile, even in the images I post on the blog. Before uploading, I edit and tweak the shot to create a specific mood for the image. By the way, there are numerous free apps available for download!. After I've finished editing, I make a photo collage and scribble on my photos to give them more "life." Be creative, but don't go overboard.

Tips: Try VSCO, RNI Films, and Lightroom for photo editing, and Picsart, Canva, and Unfold for photo collages. These are my personal favorites because they are so simple to use and you can edit on your phone!

VSCO-1.jpg

Photo source: Famisafe

3. CAPTIVATING STORY

Do not reveal the obvious to your readers. Begin your story with a warm welcome and a brief introduction or background to the readers. After that, you can progressively tell them your story. Express your ideas, emotions, and sentiments about your encounter as if you were speaking to a friend. But not a harsh type of friend, please. Haha! Just be real and raw when sharing. Creatively share your discoveries, processes, and adventures in your blog. Captivate their hearts by connecting with them. I'm not sure if I should say this, but don't be narcissistic because, to be honest, no one cares! Haha. Rather than being the center of attention, focus on your experiences and lessons learned.

Another thing to think about is the blog format. Captivate them with your story by creating a well-organized blog format. This blog from @ybanezkim26 has more information about formatting techniques. Then, If you are unsure about your English grammar, you can use the Grammarly app to check your comprehension and grammar.

Last but not least, make sure to create original content; plagiarism is strictly prohibited on this platform. Nothing is more valuable than your one-of-a-kind content!

viber_image_2022-06-14_15-40-18-319.jpg

Photo source: my screenshot :)

Tips: To ensure the security of your blog, use a free plagiarism checker online, such as https://uk.papersowl.com/free-plagiarism-checker, and you're good to go!
Also, use relevant hashtags for your story and share it with the appropriate community!

4. CONNECT
Lastly, connect. Don't just post content; engage in the community, explore other communities, participate in contests like these, and start conversations with other bloggers in the comment section. For me, the most interesting portion of my blog is the conclusion. I ask readers questions at the conclusion to urge them to contribute their ideas as well. Just like this…

How do you feel about this? How do you make your blogs better? What factors do you consider before starting a blog? But most importantly, have fun! Enjoy creating and improving yourself. You will get there. We will get there, soon :)

pexels-vlada-karpovich-4050290.jpg

Background photo source: Pexels.com

Tips: Explore and subscribe to communities on the platform, and participate in contests! Be consistent and engage in other posts as well.

That's it!

Thank you for reading my blog entry, hivers. I hope you find my blog entry useful. I'm excited to see you craft your own blog like a pro! I'm also looking forward to learning more from my fellow hivers here in hive ph.

Stay safe and creative!

Hello! Thanks for reading.
~see you on my next adventure, until then!Paalam!~


12987991_1329187503765158_1269399361_n.jpg

arkicarls

Hi I'm Carla, an Architect by profession but a real-foodie in nature. I'd like to see the world as an art, full of mystery, wonder, and beauty worth living and exploring. I believe that each of us has unique gifting that could help make this world a better place.

Thanks for reading! If my content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment. Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on my journey here on Hive.
Fighting!

Sort:  

Thank you for the feature. Char!

Hahaha you are the Lodi po😂🧡

I love it!! Gotta start blogging again after being away for months. This blog makes me write more in the coming days.

Yay! Welcome back @iamraine 🤗
Excited to see your comeback blogs. I'm sure there's a lot that I can also learn from you 👌

Oh wow thank you! Yes, I just need to sit and start writing haha but looking forward to more of your posts ☺️

Yay!Truee! Writing could really be so challenging and all we have to do is just sit there and start writing hoping to produce a good one☺️

Keep it coming @iamraine 🧡

Thanks for sharing, this is an informative article for everyone.

Thank you, our humble and gwapo daw na mentor @intoy.bugoy hahaha😆

Very informative. Thanks for sharing @arkicarls . sayang at hindi ako nakapagprepare dahil sa busy schedule. Hehehe.

Yay! Thanks ma'am. For sure naa pa dghan pa contest si hiveph🤗🧡

Mao sad. paging consistent ra ta ☺️

Yeahhh.this very helpful and informative @arkicarls ! Another guide for me as I start blogging.😍

Hello @callmesmile 🤗
Woaaah thank you so much for your kind words. To be honest, you write like a pro already. I'm also learning a lot in your blogs. Keep it coming!🧡

Got it, girl. I truly agree with all the tips you mentioned above. 🤗😍

Yay! Hello @explorewithsasha 🤗
What a delight to hear from a pro in this platform. Thank you very much for dropping by!🧡

Hello @arkicarls, luh na ulaw ko sa pro hahaha. Every day is a learning process. Baby steps pud ko from the start and till now. We just have to have fun really. Maka amaze sd maka basa uh blog sa hive kay maka inspire. 🤗😍

Haha tinuod man pod @explorewithsasha 🤗 and yes, I agree its a learning process jud and never miss the fun of creating contents.

All the best for you🧡

And all the best to you too @arkicarls. 💙💙💙

You sound like you really enjoyed writing this one.

I'm not sure if I should say this, but don't be narcissistic because, to be honest, no one cares!

This made me laugh. You're gonna raise a lot of eyebrows with this one.🤣🤣

Great post. I enjoyed reading it.🚬😎

Hahahah! Hello @baby.magic 😃
I'm in shock that I made you laugh. I guess your tips in your blog entry helped me to include this one😂😅

Anyway, i already subscribed to Comedy Open Mic. Excited to learn and just laugh my lungs out there.

Thank you very much for dropping by!👌

You're gonna love it there! The admin is very helpful and will give you some pointers on how to make your posts funnier. Just don't be shy to ask.🚬😎

That's great! Thank you very much @baby.magic 😁👌

I'm not done yet.😅 Here's another one.

https://peakd.com/comedyopenmic/@yesaye/beginner-s-guide-for-wannabe-comedians-comedy-open-mic-round-7-entry-1

I'm giving you this link 'coz I don't wanna set you up for failure. I want your first post in the community to be a hit so I want you to know all the elements of writing comedy.

Haha! This is great @baby.magic 👌
I'm not pressured. Lol😂

Hahaha I may have went too far. When you said you wanted to add humor to your post I got excited. I said finally, someone who is interested in adding humor to their post. So I thought I'd send you all these links to help you. Which you never really asked for. 😂 Sorry, now your comment thread is filled with stuff that has nothing to do with your post.😅

And by the way, don't forget to mention me when you post in Comedy Open Mic so I can check out your work as I'm not always in Hive.

Some pointers for you though, the minimum is 250 words but most writers there write at least 800 words coz you get more rewards if you pack more jokes in your post. And also, try to open your post with a bang! Like crack a joke in the first paragraph after your intro.

I'm gonna send you some link on how to write comedy so be sure to read it. These posts are from veteran content creators who started writing in the community way before it was curated by OCD. So these people really know their shit.🚬😎

Oh wow! Sureee!Thanks for your generosity @baby.magic 😃👌 I'll check this out for sure. I don't know if I could really slay jokes but yeah, lemme just try! Haha😆
For now, I'll just read blogs from other writers esp yours👌😅

Writing comedy is not easy but it can be learned. With constant practice you'd get good at it. And the best part about it is you can apply the skills you learn from writing comedy on adding humor to your other posts in other communities.🚬😎

Wow. Just wow. I'll take this advice to heart. Humor is really a good recipe that adds a flavor to your blogs.Thank you so much @baby.magic 🤗

Simple and easy to easy to remember, the 4Cs really capture what we all need to do to improve our blogs. Thanks for sharing, @arkicarls !LUV the writeup. 😊

Hi @juanvegetarian 😃
Thank you so much for your kind words. Appreciate it a lot.

Have a great day!🙌🏻

Welcome. Magandang araw! 😁

!PIZZA

Congratulations @arkicarls! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!