Rain, Rain, Rain and Floods: A Simple Class Presentation

in Hive PHlast month

It's officially the rainy season!

Since the start of September, few typhoons have already hit the Philippines. Currently, the classes are suspended since Friday and it has been 5 days of having asynchronous classes since the announcement due to the bad weather. While it's a time to relax and save some expenses from the face to face classes, but we still have the same amount of workloads to do.

This weather should be perfect to wrap ourselves with a blanket and sleep, or have a warm soup to warm up, but CANCEL, projects, presentations, assignments and study first before anything else. Speaking of presentation, gladly, I have presented something with my group that could benefit everyone before the typhoon came.

IMG_20240824_143734.jpg

Our Professor in Environmental Science gave us a task to present about something that can cause disaster, either man made or natural. Since I'm an officer at our School-based Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Unit, the first thing that came into my mind was Flood.

"If anyone wonder why we choose that topic, it's because rainy season is approaching. As everyone knows, our place is vulnerable to flooding everytime it pours heavily. We choose this topic to spread awareness and educate our classmates," Luther elaborated more after we presented the topic.

received_1056816332561658.jpeg

received_451495867890896.jpeg

We're the group who have the same members whichever subject it is, since the Professors let us choose the group that we wanted to join. It's easy for us because we're the same circle of friends since we're freshmen. I'm always grateful that they often cooperate whoever leads the group in every project we are having. This one comes easy for us, too. Moreso, I suggested this because it's the common disaster and the most relevant in the city.

The presentation was composed of:

  • Different Types of Flood
  • Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Effects
  • What to do before Flood?
  • What to do during the Flood?
  • What to do after the Flood?
  • What are the effective ways to prevent flood?

For anyone who could read this blog, I'll be sharing the link of my Flood Presentation. May it helps, if you're living in a flood prone areas.

The main purposes of this task was for us to think about how to provide solutions for those disasters as a student.

"Small gestures can create a great impact, and change should start with ourselves," I told my classmates in my introduction. We should be responsible with our actions and think how it could affect our environment before dumping waste anywhere since the main cause of flood here in Bacolod is the clogged drainage canals. As a student, aside from changing our ways, we can also help spread awareness and volunteer to community engagements promoting cleanliness.

Those were the insights that I've shared to them. Looking at the situation now that it was raining for almost a week, where floods arises and disappears from time to time, I hope it helps my classmates and their families from this rainy season. So far, I haven't heard any bad news from any student of the school. There's some who complains that floods reached their homes but they are safe anyway. Mostly, the most common complains focused on the unscheduled power interruptions. That should be better than anyone getting stranded on a high level and strong current of flood.

Anyway, the rainy season this week have reminded me of that presentation I did few weeks ago. May it helps anyone who needs it.

Thank you for reading. Be safe everyone!

Sort:  

eyy ayane great presentation ~ I bet you got a high score. I wish more people were aware of the causes and made an effort to prevent or minimize them. It's frustrating that even when some people try to fix things, others still break the rules. In my area, we don't have this problem, but it's always been an issue in the main cities. It's just sad to see news about it.

That's what I'm aiming for, how I wish I got high grades for that. 😆

It's really sad to see flooded places in the news, especially when there is casualties. I hope people could be more responsible in taking care of our environment.

rainy season na ata kc Ber months na.. dto rin lage maulan

Sunod sunod na yung mga bagyo, ang lalakas pa.