LOCK STITCHING: NEW SKILL UNLOCKED

in Hive PH2 months ago

Today let me share to you my inherited skills from my parents – shoe- stitching.

1.jpg

Last month February, I purchased an ukay-ukay (low-budget bazaar) shoe worth 350.00 pesos only at Korean surplus. I was very pleased with its quality. It’s leather brown with just my size. I examined its exterior and interior design, the weight, and material quality and ponder for a moment, “If I could just stitch it as soon as possible to secure its sole and its life endurance, it would surely be strong and guaranteed.” So, I bought it without hesitation as to its satisfiable price and authenticity.

2.jpg

As I brought it home, my father looked at it with a reply, “Dong, maayo ni sapatosa dah! Panit unya baga pa’g lapa-lapa. Nindot ni lig-on.” (Son, these shoes are quality good, the skin is then thick. Leather and thick sole. It’s nice and strong) I tried wearing it to church once and the innervation is comfortable. As I drive my motorcycle, the sole is very strong during gearing and feels light while controlling.

Now an uncertainty come into my mind, what if it won’t last a year? I know it’s not brand new. I know it’s not that fashionably cool look but I love it very much. So, I planned to buy my own sewing tool as soon as possible. I order a set on Shopee which cost for about 180.00 pesos. And finally, as soon as my sewing’s tool arrived, I am excited to try the product.

Now my long-lost skill has awakened. At first, remembering my talent is quite hard but my father is beside me who is experience on stitching our shoes during our childhood. He never ever bought us brand new shoes, always ukay-ukay. And we like them as we understand him. HE said, “Dong,dug-ula ang distansya sa kada tuslok nimo. Unya biraha’g mayo ang sa diha’s sulod para mupasok ang tahi og nindot tan-awn dris gawas. Nindot pod ning lamboha napalit nimo kay dako nya itom.” (Son, reduce, the distance between each of your stitches. Then pull the inner part so that the seam will come and it will look nice from the outside. Your thread is also beautiful that it because its black and strong.) Then I continue stiching slowly but sure, learning as I stitch more with precision and strength, and faster as I enjoyed doing such.

3.jpg

Let me share to you my ways of stitching as father taught me: First, measure the supposed length of thread to be used by binding it around the shoe at 2 rounds. Next, insert the thread halfway to the shoe at any preferred starting point. Place the needle through the hole on the upper part of the shoe. Then, pass it through the corresponding hole on the sole. Pull the needle through, but do not tighten the knot yet. To create a locked stitch, pass the needle back through the previous loop on the upper part of the shoe. Then, pass it through the corresponding hole on the sole again. Pull the needle through and tighten the knot. Finally, pull it out as hard as you can while hold the other half. This is the so-called lock stitching.

Importance of Shoe Stitching

Shoe stitching is not meant for women since it requires great pulling strength to ensure stability and good quality of the result unless on dresses and school uniforms. Shoe stitching fun and knowledgeable art. It is a skill that has been passed down through generations, requiring patience, precision, and strength with hawk’s eye.

Shoe stitching plays a nice role in the overall quality and durability of a shoe. Proper stitching ensures that the shoe remains comfortable, and withstands daily body movements. Additionally, the quality of stitching is often an indicator of the shoe's craftsmanship and handsomeness of the stitcher. Haha!.

Shoe stitching is an art form which is deemed high quality when in manual and less in machinery. The techniques involved in shoe stitching also reflect the craftsmanship and quality of the end product. As the demand for fashion, well-made, endurance basically for male perceptions on foot wares continues, the importance of mastering the art of shoe stitching remains vital in the world of shoemaking.

4.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this one of the appreciated things I've ever be proud of. You're such a talented person. Keep it up! 😊

Thanks sir! GOd Bless

You're always welcome. 😊

Wow! I really appreciate people who do this. Back when I had new shoes, I used to bring them to my aunt's house for lock stitching because I wanted to make them more durable. Salute to all of you who are still practicing this up until this day! 🙌🙌🫡

This is lovely, instead of being idle. It is better to do something with one's time

I wish i had a talent like yours! I love tinkering but I always didn't have the time. Love to see more of what you can create here on Hive, and hopefully more shoes to find!

thank you very much maam🥰. Likewise,

I remember during high school, Mom prefer buy me a shoes in ukay ukay rather than a brand new one na ang bilis namang masira. In ukay, basta magaling oumili makakahanap ka talaga ng shoes na tatagal sayo ee. Naalala ko lan coz of your post hehe.

Anyways I know shoe stitching is not that easy. Pero thanks to those people who's skilled on this forte, may pagawaan tayo ng mga shoes na nasira na pwd pa. You can also make it this as a hobby like if ever lang din ped mo ring pagkakitaan diba.


Congratulations dear @batanggwapo for following in your father's footsteps in this noble profession. I have always compared the art of sewing shoes to the art of carpentry. Perhaps it is because of the precision that is needed in the finishes and because it is really a very noble profession. Many of us have benefited from this art by sewing our shoes looking to extend their useful life, and we have succeeded. It is wonderful that you enjoy what you do. A true art that can open many doors for you economically if you continue with your commitment and dedication.

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful experiences with the art of sewing shoes that runs through your veins!

¡I send you a cordial and sincere greeting. And I hope you can continue to achieve many satisfactions expanding your noble art!


FENIX.png


very much appreciated sir🥰

Sometimes my Dad also stitch his shoes even though he doesnt know how to do it properly. One day, I told him that I would buy him a pair of shoes but he insisted because the shoes his stiching with was very important to him. Keep up the good work sir😊

usually sakong mga sapatos kay mga ukay-ukay kay ganahan ko barato pa lig on pa kung gusto ko'g mas lig on pa deretcho patahi aron bagtik kaayo hehe

mao jud maam, wise buy ba... branded pang uban smaot nang makatiming ug new arrival

Great job well done

thanks sir👌