SUNDAY: A Reflection from a Church Mass

in Hive PH5 months ago

"“Whoever humbles himself like this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Mt18:4)"

A blessed Sunday, hivers! Before this day ends I would like to share to all of you my takeaways from the Sunday mass I attended today. I learned a lot from it and I hope you can, too. Happy reading!

IMG_20240121_135410.jpg

21, January 2024, the third Sunday of January. I woke up at 5 in the morning, then, prepared a breakfast. After eating breakfast, I did some household chores like washing the dishes, fixing my bed, and cleaning the house. Afterwards, I prepared going to a Catholic church, the Immaculate Conception Parish mass will start at exactly 9 o'clock.

It's already a habit of mine to go to attend mass at church alone every Sunday. If you're asking me, why I always go to church alone? Let me tell you a very short story. Actually, when we are still living in the city, me and my family attends the Sunday church mass together but everything changed when we moved here in the province. It started when both of my parents have their work that even weekends, they still have their duty. So, that ends at the reason why we no longer go to church together. Besides, I'm already used to go anywhere, alone, since I grew up to be independent and I always love a company all by myself.

At the mass

Let me share the homily of the priest during the mass. Whereas, the month of January is the day which we Filipinos celebrating the feast day of Sr. Sto. Niño (you can search it online). This celebration is to honor the Santo Niño or referring to the Child Jesus, so this means that together with the celebration of the feast of Sr. Sto. Niño, this is also a celebration for the children, their importance and values that they impart to the world and to our lives.

The priest sermon states that the "Kingdom of Heaven" is meant and for children. Maybe you're asking, "So that means, adults or people who are already old is not allowed to enter the kingdom of God?". When I heard that as well, I also ask the same question to myself. But, when the priest continued, he clarified that, this only means, people need to have a child-like attitude and perspective in life.

While I'm listening to him, that makes me wonder what are those personalities of a child should we possess to be able to be accepted in the kingdom of God? The priest mentioned four; simple, contentment, pure, and innocent.

Let's start with being simple as a child, I know that we all can relate to this since we all gone through in the stage of being a child. So we know how simple things can make a child happy. The priest recall his childhood memory where how a small water gun which bought by his mother before makes him so happy. While, I also remembered the time how happy I am when mama and papa bought me a paper dolls because that is all I want during that time, even they already keep insisting that I should get a real barbie doll which is made of plastics, but I declined because all I want is the simple paper dolls. That memory of mine makes me realize that it's true, a mind of a child is so simple. I just don't know to the younger generation nowadays, I think their perspective on simplicity changed a lot.

Here enters the word contentment which is somehow the most important one. Whereas, the child is so happy even in a small or simple gift given for him or her, meanwhile other people can't appreciate those things given to them. The priest gave an example, like in giving relief goods for the people who were victim of any weather phenomenon like typhoon. People tend to complain that they just received less than what they actually need, rather than to be contented and thankful on what they received. I somehow realized, what if everyone has the contentment in their hearts? Like contentment in power and money, maybe their would be no war and everyone is helping each other, right? In my own perspective, not being contented about something is okay, as long as it is for good things or outcome. For an example, if you are born in a poor family and experienced a very hard life where you can't eat three times a day because their is nothing to eat and you can't buy and have the things that you want because your parents can't afford it. Of course, you should not contented living in that kind of life forever, you should have a dream, a dream that is to escape yourself and your family from the curse of poverty. While making a way to make a better life, you should also know and make sure that you're not stepping into anyone's life just to be on top. In simple terms, we should not have a crab mentality

Next, is being pure and innocent. As a natural character of a child is curious in everything to his or her surroundings, right? There are times that we got pissed because they keep on asking questions to us that according to the priest, their are parents who scold their children and telling them to stop asking just because they are still young to know. I think it's unfair for the child to deprive from his or her right to learn and knowing the truth. It's already time to remove the prejudice about children, saying, "They are still young to know and understand things like that and this". We older ones should be aware that children notice everything since they are known to be very observant on their surroundings. Their innocence is what makes them pure, because their mind is simple to think yet sometimes their words can be powerful to adults.

AFTER MASS

IMG_20240121_124403.jpg

For Filipino Catholics, it is already part of our culture or tradition of buying bibingka after a church mass. Well, bibingka is one of the classic dessert of Filipinos. This is made out from rice flour and coconut milk, cooked in a charcoal or "oling" and covered in a banana leaf. This is cost for only PHP 6 or
0.35 USD. This may seems cheap but still taste delicious.

This food makes me reminisce the past where me and family are still going to the church together. My papa is the one who buys bibingka for us, while right now, it changed because I'm the one whose buying it for myself and eating it alone.

I understand my parents, that they badly need to work to provide for us. But sometimes, I can't avoid to feel bad against them. Maybe there are really things in our life that is beyond of our control. That even how much we badly wanted to keep things as it is, we still can't because afterall, changes is constant. All we can do is to go with flow of life, may it we go alone or together with our love ones, the most important thing is we can survive, alone. In that way we can prove to ourselves that we are stronger than before.

Sort:  

Congratulations @belyz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 5 months ago  

Filipino Catholics, it is already part of our culture or tradition of buying bibingka after a church mass.

Never knew this! There's a church nearby in our place kaso they do not have bibingka around, usually it is sold during holiday season lang.

Nice to know that there are some places that sell this even out of season.

Yeah! There are some places where they don't sell bibingka if it's not yet Christmas season. Since in the first place, bibingka is only during simbang gabi. Meanwhile, I grew up with that kind of culture around me, where we will have bibingka every time we go to church.

Indeed, it's good to celebrate mass every Sunday. Food for our souls. Same here, after attending the mass there are bibingkas sold nearby the church and of course, my grandmother never fails to buy them. Thanks for sharing this one. God bless

amazing time you had spend....