I am not an Artist.

in Hive PHlast year

IMG_20221025_212205.jpg

Sharing with you my work of art. A sketch created out of the blue. I am not an artist nor believe in my self that I can produce artworks. I do scribbles sometimes. LOL. My skill is kindergarten level. All through my life, I never believe that there is any drop of artistry in my blood. And the last time I draw was when I was in college during our Ed Tech subject because we were required to do so.

What lead me to sketch this piece?

This week is hiveph's last week of the art contest it hosted. I didn't intend to join and it never to crossed my mind to even try because I am not an artist. But my friend @labanez is and I was encouraging her to join when she shared to me that she's interested to join the art contest. She is very talented but she was hesitant to join, seeing all the awesome entries submitted in the previous weeks. But I hope she will submit her piece soon because I am rooting for her.

And then, as I was scrolling and curating blogs I came across Asean Hive community's art contest. But the funny thing is, it states that they will welcome non-artist so I told her that I will join this contest while she should join hiveph's. I joked about drawing Hyun Bin (my favorite Korean actor) and I will "shookt" the world. 🤣🤣 That was a joke! Really I just wanted to encourage her and so that she will not be overawed by the works of some equally talented pinoy artists that joined the contest.

The Process

Out of the blue, I told @labanez that I am serious and I am going to draw Hyun Bin. 🤣 I searched for Hyun Bin's photos on google and found the perfect photo to draw.

I wish I could upload that photo of him so you can see the big difference or similarity of my sketch. Hahah! But since I got it from google, I'll just leave it there. [Is it ok to post a screen shot and tag the google link?]

I was supposed to use a pencil since the contest from Asean Hive require a pencil drawing. But I cannot find a pencil so I grabbed my black gel ink pen and a bond paper and started to sketch. I was thinking of using the technique of using grid lines as guide but I have no pencil and it felt tedious to draw those lines. Another reason is that I cannot print Hyun Bin's photo. I don't have a printer at home so I cannot use the gridlines technique. I decided to draw whatever the outcome was since there's no pressure. I can submit it to the contest even if it is not good enough and just make a good narration out of it (maybe a funny one for some good laugh).

I started with the edges of the face, trying to estimate the distance between points like the forehead to the nose and nose to the ears and so on.

IMG_20221027_135636.jpg
I was happy with the outcome. I did not expect to be able to draw the face with the right proportions. But I was a little disappointed because it did not look like Hyun Bin at any angle. 😆😆 But at least it looked like a man.

I then draw the hair . It was the easiest part.

IMG_20221025_210353.jpg

I added a little shade on the forehead, the nose, lips and the neck. And this is the final outcome.
IMG_20221025_212205.jpg

I really did not expect of the result. It is not as good as the real artists' work but it isn't so bad. And if I will be asked to draw again, I' not sure if I can still do it like this. This is the best drawing I did so far in my life. 🤣


Hive is truely a worthwhile space to be. It provides lots of opportunity to learn about yourself and discover what you can do. It expands your horizon with with the help of these community engagements and contests.

And as for everyone, do not limit yourself on believing that you can't do this or that. Break free from your shell and explore your capabilities.

Remember the story of the Eagle and the Chicken? You become what you believe you are.

Sort:  

I don't know about Hyun Bin but as you were laughing might be di talaga yan sya hehehe but i am amazed because you were able to draw a face. Ako stick picture lang talaga siguro ang magagawa ko heheheh..

Congrats for it @bluepark.

Oo sis. Ang layo talaga hahah. Baka ung adam's apple pwede na 🤣. Kahit ako I did not expect na makapag draw ng ganyan. Feel ko lng talaga magdrawing that time.

Thank you for dropping by.

Ayosaaaa sa drawing uyyy! 👏👏👏 Hyun Bin should be proud!😁 Ingnaa ren, kalma lang Hyun Bin ha, padulong palang tas exciting part😅 Bitaw uyyyy sigeha lag practice, masuhito naka ana. Thanks to Hive for waking up the artist in you. ☺️

Kauwaw sad sa you are rooting for me 😅😅 samot kog kaluya 🤣🤣🤣

Hahah bugal2 ui. 😁.

What a work of art! 😉 It's worth a try knowing "you don't have any "drop of artistry in your blood". It's nice to have someone else like @labanez challenge you go out from your comfort zone. In the end its about growing and having fun at the same time!

Thank you @indayclara. The perks of having an artist friend, you get influenced by their artisty. 😁 Challenging and encouraging each is other is indeed a fun way to grow.

Kanumdum ko basta pa drawingon gani sa maestra before aw gamit kaau ang gas uy kay butangan nako ug gas ang bondpaper para klaro kaayu nig patong sa sunduganan nga photo, mao na ang solution sa walay talent sa pagdraw.🤣🤣🤣

Hahah oo kasuway pod ko ana. Best in lakra 🤣🤣🤣

I really liked what you just said at the end of his blog 😊. Plus you've nade such n art here..
Sometimes talaga mapapasabi nalang tayo ng " kaya ko pala" ..
kaya try and try lang. The possibility of of what we can do with our hidden abilities are endless.

I totally agree. Sometimes all we need is opportunity for us to discover that "kaya pala natin". Thank yoi @jhero22

kamaayuha jud ninyu mangdrawing, hain dagay me sa panahon nag ulan ana nga talent? basin nag laag!🤣🤣🤣

Taligsik raman ning ahung naabtan pod hahah. Naa ra na dha. Naghuwat ra na madiscover

How much more my drawing skill?😂 Now, I feel so pathetic upon seeing this sketch. Haha.. You really are an artist. Hyun Bin you're so gwapo talaga..hahahah

We arw artists in our own way mam. Maybe not in drawing but in other way. Heheh. Yes Hyun Bin is so gwapo he can inspire the non artist to draw his face 😆🤣. But he'll surely be unhappy to see this. 🤣🤣

Thank you @missleray for your kind words. Have a great day.

You're always welcome @bluepark🥰