Celebrating my mom's birthday! | SOLEA RESORT | CEB PH

in Hive PH7 months ago

366282598_7150988038248110_241057703495018796_n.jpg

Last August, my mom's sister and I surprised my mom with an overnight stay in Solea Resort together with the rest of our relatives.

My mom sacrificed and endured a lot of challenges when she was young. She started working at the age of 18 just so she could help her family, especially her young siblings to finish their studies. She was given a huge responsibility at an early age and had to go abroad to make a living.

Everyone knew my mom as a strong, confident, and independent woman. They look up to her and they know that she is someone you can approach when you are in need or when you need someone to talk to.

Not until she faced the biggest challenge in her life. In 2013, she had a Transient Ischemic Stroke or Mild stroke. Then, after 4 years, she had another stroke which led to her hemiparesis (muscle weakness in one side of her body). As time passed, she became weaker and weaker and sadder too. I'm sure anyone in her position would definitely have a hard time accepting the situation. Once a carefree, independent, sociable person is now stuck in the 4 corners of her home.

So as much as possible, we try to encourage our relatives to visit her at home, we organize parties at home too and we try to bring her out to the beach, mountains, or mall.


BEACH

IMG_20230806_171300.jpg

IMG_20230806_172031.jpg



I really like the beach in Solea since it has a wide sandbar and they keep the surroundings as well as the water clean. My mom can walk a short distance with the help of crutches but most of the time she needs a wheelchair. It really helps that I have a lot of male cousins and I am thankful for them because I certainly cannot assist my mom in going up and down her wheelchair by myself.

We came in late in the afternoon so the tide was low and the people went to the pool. Usually, we just let my mom sit on the sand and we massage her arms and legs. The water was so clear and calm.

IMG_20230806_175415.jpg

IMG_20230806_175514.jpg

FOOD

Time for dinner! The menu was mostly Filipino cuisine. We ordered crispy pata, sinigang, bulalo, pancit canton, chopsuey, fried chicken, and shawarma rice. The price and serving were quite average and reasonable considering that it is a hotel. It was not bad at all. I think I only spent around 4,500 (80 USD) to feed 10 adults and 2 kids.

IMG_20230806_195104.jpg

IMG_20230806_194708.jpg

IMG_20230806_191610.jpg

IMG_20230806_194831.jpg

IMG_20230806_194824.jpg

IMG_20230806_192303.jpg

IMG_20230806_191618.jpg

We also asked the waiters if they could help us sing for my mom. They put up a mini show by singing and dancing, had this big sign with her name, and gave a cupcake! I wish my mom to be mentally strong, to not give up, and to continue to find contentment and happiness in her heart.

IMG_20230806_200311_1.jpg

Here's the family picture! To more memories for my mom. 😊

I am grateful for the people who remember her and try to give back for her kindness and generosity. I hope my mom appreciates and feels the love too.

366344912_7150986334914947_2530904753155738856_n.jpg

HAPPY BIRTHDAY FROM CHILL WITH SHANNA

Love you mom 💓 Keep going!

IMG_20230806_175931.jpg

IMG_20230806_175751.jpg

Life can be so overwhelming and we all have our own struggles. Let's be present and enjoy each and every day.


IMG_20230323_172459.jpg

SHANNA JEN

Welcome to Chill with Shanna. Shanna is a life enthusiast and a wanderer. She is easy going, spontaneous and want to challenge herself by testing her limits. She aspires to be an effective storyteller and content creator. She is in pursuit of fulfilling her purpose, living a good life and ticking adventures off her bucketlist.

She is a Speech-Language Pathologist and AXA Financial Advisor by profession.

If you like to hear her stories and experiences, please upvote, follow and leave a comment. It will be much appreciated. 😊

Sort:  

Happy Birthday to mum and you take care on that cool red scooter! We could do with you here. Currently have three kids, all French speakers, two are autistic twins, with various speech problems. Nightmare lol.

Best wishes to you, even more best wishes to Mum :-)

Thank you so much and all the best to you too! 😊🛵💨

I guess she much be very happy seeing the love you guys gave to her in celebrating .... I Wish her more joy and healthy life ahead.. by the way those food looks yummy😋😋 wish i can have a bite

Thank you so much for your message!

Oh! Thank you for thanking me☺️☺️

Happy birthday to your mama. It's really hard to be sick especially when to you are once like her, strong ND independent and carefree. That's my greatest fear actually

Thank you for the greeting! It is pretty tough, and its in our genes. So I am being cautious as well.

But mind you, lifestyle can create most illness

Posted via D.Buzz

Congratulations @chillwithshanna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP