The impact of SUPER TYPHOON RAI in my city | Cebu, Philippines

in Hive PH2 years ago

Hello hivers!

Finally got an internet connection and can update and blog about this eye-opening experience. So, I live in Lapu-Lapu which is a small island in Cebu where you have to cross the bridge from the city. It has been 7 days, and there is still no signal in my area, no electricity, limited access to water, limited gas and public transporation same as with most places hit by the typhoon. Currently in the city proper to borrow a place with internet connection and electricity to update my relatives and friends, find some lead where to get supplies and necessities, report and excuse myself at work, write this blog etc.

Super Typhoon Rai hit our place last December 16 in the evening. It was definitely the strongest typhoon I have encountered. The winds were so strong, you'd hear roof getting ripped, tree branches and other things flying, people shouting. Never have I imagined it would create this huge damage. I cannot picture out my city the day after the typhoon as I went out with my dad looking for hardware shops to buy things to fix our roof. Luckily, I had a little cash on hand because I just got my salary which was usually given weekly. but that was all I had which was really enough to buy stuff for 3 days. We had to borrow and ask for the other supplies from neighbors or relatives who lived nearby. I really learned a lot on how to prepare when something like this happens again (--> always have an emergency cash stashed in the house), but I pray this won't happen again. 😭

It was stressful and sometimes I'd catch myself just staring blankly, not knowing what to do. This sounds dramatic and I know I'm not the only one who feels this way. It's just bad news after bad news from pandemic to this, in a time where supposedly we were looking forward to a Holiday break, a Christmas celebration and a vacation to rest. 😩


IMG_20211216_214618.jpg

This is a photo of when rainwater starts getting in. Our roof was damaged and gone, our ceiling got broken as well. Rainwater was coming in and my dad and I stayed up all night trying to mop the water so it doesn't reach the first floor where my mom, who is a PWD, was staying. Our wooden tables and cabinets were destroyed. Learned another lesson, --> will be buying plastic cabinets to replace it. Also, ---> always keep/put important files, documents, things in a plastic container.

IMG_20211217_065242.jpg

IMG_20211217_063031.jpg

This is our terrace on the 2nd floor. These pictures were taken in the morning the day after the storm. All our clothes and things are wet, most of the roof is gone, the wood is also broken.
--> if there's typhoon, just get everything from the terrace and transfer it inside lol.

IMG_20211217_063105.jpg

Just beside our house, this big heavy electric pole fell down when an Acacia tree branch hit the electric wires. A parking garage was totally damaged. It was really messy everywhere and dangerous especially for the children. Until now, the pole is still hanging like that but some neighbors put a huge tree branch to keep it in place. We already reported it, hope they get it ASAP because the kids are playing outside already and people are passing by to fetch water and stuff.
--> take pictures of damages and report immediately

IMG_20211217_072338.jpg

IMG_20211217_083018.jpg

IMG_20211217_063005.jpg

Goodbye roof. 😅 The sky was so clear, it was sunny and it was really quiet the day after the storm. Everyone were still in shock, surveying their surroundings and getting ready to go out to see what happened and get supplies.
--> always have stock of water in a big drum, medical kit, emergency light ,batteries, candles in the house.


I took some videos and pictures of the aftermath of the typhoon when we were out, but I wasn't able to document alot cause my phone was dead most of the time. Water refilling stations, gasoline stations, groceries, pharmacies had crazy LOONGGG lines. I passed by the clinic where I work as a Speech-Pathologist and the glass walls were totally damaged and some of our materials and documents were wet. People would stay on the bridge to get signal and internet connection to call relatives and update them and ask for help as well. A lot of electric poles are down and they said it would take a month or more to get things back in place.

I really feel like the world froze again, just like how it was during pandemic. Some people can't work, panic buying here and there, hoarding, reselling supplies at double, triple the prices, stealing etc. But there are also what we call here "Bayanihan" which means "a spirit of civic unity and cooperation among Filipinos." (Oxford languages). Shoutout to our relatives, friends and neighbors who gave my family rice, food, water, candles, usable roof, one of them also helped my dad fix our roof. I was so overwhelmed with the people who's out there taking care of my family.

Screenshot_2021-12-23-08-44-44-124_com.miui.gallery.jpg

Screenshot_2021-12-23-08-42-18-382_com.miui.gallery.jpg

IMG_20211221_083202.jpg

IMG_20211222_160727.jpg

Thankfully my family and the people I know are all safe. We will rise again Cebu!
This will all pass and we will have way better years coming! Keep our heads up!

Praying for all other provinces and countries hit by the typhoon, that they get all the help they need as well. 🙏


This is a fundraising post and I thank @ybanezkim26 and @indayclara for spearheading another donation drive that would help a lot of people. Please keep updated with their posts if you want to donate. 50% of the rewards of this post will be transferred to them to help the victims in their area and the other 50% will be for the residents in my area.

Hope I get your support in this Hivers! See you when I see you!

KEEP SAFE!!!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ommmggg! Huhuhu @chillwithshanna I hope okay ra gyud mo sa imong family. It breaks my heart everytime makakita gyud ko'g ing-ani kay di gyud lalim. Amping always and no matter how difficult these past few days may seem, I'm positive that better days are ahead for everyone of us. Let's hang in there until then! 😊

better 2022 and the next years to come natong tanan!!! ♥️♥️ thanks so much you and your fam keep safee!

Yeees, praying for that gyud Shanna! Merry Christmas in advance kay wala nay signal huhu

merry christmas ♥️♥️

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I am sorry about all the damage. Glad you are safe. Wishing you all strength as you rebuild.

thank you so much!! 💪 will get thru this with a positive outlook!

OMG! I´m sorry but thanks God you, your family, relatives and friends are ok. I hope you collect all the money you need. I really admire you because you have taken it all on with gallantry and a good attitude. God bless you, I will be praying for you, your family and the whole Philippines.

thank you so muchhh!! safety is all that matters. will get thru this! ♥️🥺🥺

Am sorry for what happen and am also grateful for the info about emergency kit and some plastic thing some one needs to have just in case some thing went wrong. Pls take courage, things like is are bad but it makes us stronger and ready for what ever that is going to come our way.

We are prepared for the worse, but hope for the best 🌟 Stay safe.

stay safe as well!! yes i agree, what doesnt kill us makes us stronger

I am praying for the quick recovery of everyone that is affected. Hang on guys, help is coming.

thank you so muchhh!! 🥺🥺

You're welcome (^_^)

I have read several of these posts during the day, my prayers are with you and your people!

thank you!! appreciate it!! ♥️♥️

This, too, shall pass, @chillwithshanna. Stay strong and Merry Christmas!

thank you really! 🥺♥️♥️

Good to know that you are fine. I hope the damages are repaired as quickly as possible. !PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@juanvegetarian(3/5) tipped @chillwithshanna (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Dear @chillwithshanna,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!