Celebrating Mother's Day Yesterday

in Hive PHlast year

There is no equivalent to the sacrifices made by a mother. From pregnancy to raising their children, they fulfilled these roles without expecting anything in return. They only desire our well-being and safety on the path we will take. They deserve everything good in this world. So, to commemorate and acknowledge all the selfless and good things our mothers have done, we have this day called Mother’s Day.

Yesterday, my mother told us that we would go to Alabang Central Market. It is Mother's Day, and my mother decided to surprise my grandmother with a personal visit. When I learned that we were going to see our grandma, I immediately jumped out of my bed, run down the stairs, and went to the bathroom to take a bath.

We left our home early. It was Sunday morning, and its drizzling and the weather is perfect to go outside. It seems the skies are going along with families who are also outside to celebrate Mother’s Day.

Before we go to the transport terminal, we decided to enter a mall nearby to buy some food we can buy along with our visit. We are choosing whether to buy pizza or cake, and I just suggested buying pizza because it is easier to consume unlike cake where you need to use a knife to take a slice, plus the frostings that are too messy to deal with. Cakes are also too sweet, and already overrated food desert in a Filipino visit settings.

While we are waiting in line, you can notice that the volume of the crowd is heavier compared to the previous days. When you look at every restaurant, there’s a long queue of line. I can say that everyone is also busy having their moment and celebrating with their moms.

After waiting for 30 minutes, our order has been served. These two boxes of large pizzas can already make our tummy full. Geez the smell of the food coming from these two cardboard boxes is making me drool.

It took us half an hour before we reached Alabang. Along the trip, it rained hard which made us worry because it will be too hassle to walk around the metro with this kind of weather. Fortunately, it stopped after several minutes.

With a little walk, you can easily reach the Alabang Central Market. This was renovated and closed down for almost three years. All of the affected vendors including my grandma were affected by this. I would like to tell more about this but I think it deserves another blog. Let me know what you think.

This is my first time visiting the renovated place. My mama told me that my grandma’s stall is located on the 2nd floor, the part of the market where dry goods are being sold. On the ground floor, you can see the poultry section and other goods that are considered ‘wet’.

I was carrying two pizza boxes when I saw my grandma sitting at her stall, waiting for customers. I surprised her and greeted her with a happy Mother's Day. She seemed confused at that moment, but later on, she figured out what it was all about and started smiling. She looked delighted by our surprise. My mother hugged and kissed her on the cheeks, while my brother and I showed our respect by pagmamano or gently taking our grandma's hands and bringing them to our foreheads.

We called our Aunt who is also located on the same floor nearby to have a feast on the pizza we brought. But before anything else, let’s take a picture!


Happy Mother's Day to these three wonderful women 💖

While having a feast, I had the chance to have a glimpse and observe the environment of this newly renovated market. The market is now better compared to back then; it is more hygienic and organized, has better ventilation, and has a better security system.

We had a sharing of how’s our life, what’s the update with our other relatives, and other more things we can talk of. I miss this kind of chika with them; for me, it's therapeutic as I also have the chance to share what’s going out in my life and talk about the personal things I can't share with my friends.

We bid goodbye after hours of having a good conversation. Geez time flew so fast. It feels like we're just talking here for just half an hour. But we have no choice as we still have another agenda for this day. For the last time, we had our selfie.

From Alabang, we traveled back to Bacoor to see my father who that time already out from his work. Gladly the traffic isn't heavy and we quickly reached our destination. It's a miracle to see this kind of traffic situation from our place. I hope this is always the situation.

For the last agenda, my father told us that we will have dinner at a Samgyupsal restaurant. Gosh, if you just can see the cells inside my tummy rejoiced when I heard my father say that. It's been a while since I ate samgyupsal because it's too expensive for my budget and I don’t have someone to eat with me.

My father’s co-worker suggested a cheap but good samgyupsal that is just one ride away from our place. We decided to give it a try. Minutes after, the driver of the jeepney we were riding told us that we are already at our destination. Getting out of the vehicle, the first question that popped into my mind was, “How this place get customers if its surrounding area looks desolate?” It was literally along the road, not located on a commercial building or area, just along the road. There’s another restaurant beside it but it was not enough to make the place catchy to the eyes of the cars passing by.

Black Pink is the name of the Samgyusal Restaurant. Inspired by the name of the famous South Korean Idols?

We entered the place and had a seat just in time because a few moments after, the queue the line started to get longer. It's dinner time so it's understandable.

We checked the menu and the original price marked up a bit. But it is still affordable! For only 350 pesos we can already have our unlimited pork and beef, unlimited side dishes, unlimited iced tea drinks, and other unlimited things that I can’t even remember because the food servers are in a hurry. This was indeed cheap and worth it compared to other samgyupsal restaurants that cost around 500 pesos that offer the same menu.

Although it is not well-ventilated and the ambiance isn’t comfortable, I can say that the place is still okay. The tastes of their foods are great and I really had fun filling my tummy there. I would like to invite someone here when were both free from our academics.

We can't even move as much on our table because there's a lot. Worth it for the price! 💯

Kimchi 🤤
Small potato 🤤

My brother looks so fed up with the selfies 🤣

After an hour or so, we decided to finally finish the meal. It would be hard if we will request another stack of meat then it will turn out that we can’t consume it all. We will get penalized and pay for the leftovers.

The aftermath.

Leaving the place, there’s still a line queue outside waiting for others to finish their meal. Someone from that group of people might be rejoicing when we left our table, lol.

PXL_20230514_191313114.jpg

Our tummies are full, we are satisfied with the meal, and we, especially my mother are happy. This day was well spent. We call it a day.


Celebrating Mother’s Day is not all about spending a lot of money and buying a lot of things to show your appreciation to all of our mamas, moms, nanay, etc. It is the thought that matters, and your actions towards them that made them feel loved. Every day is Mother’s Day and it's up to you how you will show how your love and appreciation to them.

Thank you so much for reading.

If you've made it here, thank you so much for reading. I always spend several hours just to complete this, which might seem like an exaggeration to others but trust me, it's not 😅. So, the thought of someone reading my work already warms my heart (∩˃o˂∩)♡. Until next time, bye!

About the author

Follow me on Twitter 🤳

Sort:  
 last year  

That was a well-spent Mother's day and I believe you enjoyed your day with your family. I know now where your facial features came from, lol. I love the samgyup, too.

Her genes are too strong and I got the majority of her facial features hahaha. Thank you for checking this out, @dennnmarc :))

Busy yarn? Grabe dami ganap nung Mother's day. Oii di ko pa nakikita yung Alabang Market na renovated ganda na nya in all fairness! Madalas ako mag daan dyan nung nag o office pa kami sa Alabang.

Gusto ko din ng Samgy!

Nakita ko lang yung sandals ang ganda! Saan mo na iskor yan at magkano?

Oum. kuya tp maganda sya. Hindi pa tapos yung kabilang building and Im still wondering if anong magiging laman non; if dry and wet market din ba hahaha

Madami ding nakakapansin nyan hahaha. Eto yung link kuya tp don sa sandals.

https://invl.io/clii2ya

Yuuun I checked the link sadds hanggang 10.5 lang ang max size 🤣

 last year  

Daming ganap! Haha. I love how sweer your entire family is. I love your mom's warmth. I love your grandma's timid smile. Even your brother and father are sweet too. What a lovely family you got there. Happy mothers' day to your mom and your grandma. :)

Buti kinaya ng social energy ko ang ganaps ko that time haha. I am lucky to have my family. 💖 Thank you po nay romeskie for checking this out!

 last year  

I read your blog about the meetup and there's a part there where you said you told your mom about everything that happened. That's a mom goal right there. I salute your mom for raising you the way you are right now. 🥰🥰🥰

Happy Mother's Day, I'm sure you both enjoyed it~

Yep, we surely enjoyed it 😁. Thank you for checking this out @mooontivated !