You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Question Of The Weekend: Your Favorite Teacher | QOTW Last Week's Winner Announcement

in Hive PH9 months ago

My favorite teacher is Dr. Jeni, but we call her Nanay. She was our Creative Writing teacher in college. She's amazing and skilled. She would bring us to nature to get inspiration for our writing. She is frank too. She'd praise us when we wrote something promising, and she'd tell us when we wrote trash. Once, I submitted a draft. She took a pen out from her pocket and marked a big X on my paper.

"This is trash", she said.

It didn't hurt me tho. I knew she was right.

After graduation, she talked to me. She told me I could have gotten a higher grade if I submitted my haikus instead. I jokingly answered her that I could have gotten a higher grade if she accepted those haikus (you see, I submitted them late, so I don't blame her).

My CW grade didn't matter to me tho. She's the reason I think I can write. She pushed me and inspired me beyond the extrinsic power of any grade, and for that I am truly grateful.

On my graduation, she gave me something very personal and precious to her: a list of books she read that changed the course of her life. I often see it as pamana or heirloom, except she's not dead.LOL. I pray that wherever she is now she may have a healthy long life. She's not teaching anymore. She's currently working on a research, but I'd love to see her teach again and I'd die to be in her class.


This is my kwentong favorite teacher. Wanna share yours?
@demotry @jude.villarta @denmark @ayane-chan

Sort:  
 8 months ago  

bongga ng teacher na yan cloflo!