Indescribable, Messy, and Chaotic Yet Fulfilling | My Parokya ni Edgar Musical Experience

in Hive PH2 months ago

Yellow Black Modern Traveling Alone YouTube Thumbnail.png

How I discovered Parokya ni Edgar

I still recall the first time I heard Parokya ni Edgar. Parokya ni Edgar is an iconic Filipino band from the nineties. It was a lazy afternoon, and my dad casually played 'Harana' while hanging out with our relatives. With time, I became familiar with their music.

Back in high school, my friends and I used to bring our guitars to school and play music together. It was at that moment that my friends and I decided to start a band. We used to rent studios and have jam sessions after class. Those were the days when I played and sang 'Silvertoes' and 'Your Song'.

Parokya ni Edgar songs has been there throughout my teenage years, that's why when I found out about the musical, I knew I had to see it.

Last April 14, I purchased tickets for the 8pm show on May 11. Our first choice was VIP center seats, but they were already sold out, so we went for Gold seats in the middle instead.

image.png
inside Newport World Resorts

We used to prefer physical tickets when we watched the Hamilton Musical last time, but now we decided to go with e-tickets. It would be a hassle to bring a physical ticket that is larger than my small bag.


I was thinking about how the musical would turn out.

How do they plan on bringing the band's funny and charming vibe to the stage?

Was it similar to the Huling El Bimbo musical? In what way could 'Bagsakan' and other songs by Parokya ni Edgar be brought to life on stage?

The wait was driving me crazy!


On the day of the show, we decided to take a Grab car to Newport Performing Arts Theater.

Guess what? There's a Php 50 discount voucher for rides to/from the Newport Performing Arts Theater, perfect for us who are going to see the musical.

image.png
Grab voucher

Just outside the theater, there are two stalls - one selling merchandise and the other serving complimentary Locally drinks. Unfortunately, food and drinks are not permitted inside the theater, so we cannot bring them in. They also arranged special spots where you can take photos!

image.pngimage.png

the merch stall and free Locally drinks!

Music and Performance

The stage design was absolutely fantastic! Apart from their live performances, they also incorporate video projections, which are actually nice.

I can't stop myself from saying 'wow, bongga!' whenever there's a costume or backdrop change. They've really invested in the production of this musical. You can really tell if a musical play has a budget 😁 The energy was superb, too! Tex De Leon, who portrayed Norma, did an exceptional job singing the songs with great emotion. I actually noticed the crowd getting into it, swaying their heads to the songs, especially when the song 'Inuman Na' played.

We were actually waiting to see Pepe Herrera perform. If you haven't heard of him, he played Lods in the movie Rewind with Marian Rivera and Dingdong Dantes. He nailed that role in the movie. I was not disappointed at all by his performance on stage. He totally nailed the role of Mr. Suave and fit right in with Norma (Tex De Leon).

image.png
one of the photo-ops spots

Plot Overview

The musical was about four women finding themselves and figuring things out.

To be honest, I had a lot of questions in my head when the musical ended. The flow of the story for each character is not smooth. They included songs that have nothing to do with what's going on. There are also some sexual antics that I'd say aren't necessary. They may have included it to capture the band's playful and funny side though.

Even though I was confused while watching, I still found enjoyment in their performances and songs.

The musical is full of metaphors, but they didn't give it all away by explaining everything to the audience, which is great. It gave us the freedom to think and interpret them as we please.

curtain call 🎶


All in all, the musical gave us a positive reminder that life might get indescribable, messy, and chaotic yet fulfilling. The musical was pure nostalgia, with all the things that make Parokya ni Edgar great.

Buruguduystuguystuy - Parokya ni Edgar The Musical is a must-see. You'll have fun, even if you're not familiar with their music.


What's your favorite Parokya ni Edgar song? Have you seen the musical?

Until my next theater experience!

All images are mine unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

To be honest, I snoozed a bit on the first part. Pagkamulat ko, < spoiler > Alien na si ano... </ spoiler>. hahaha!

But it got better towards the end and the theme got clearer. The plot is indeed complex, might be good to watch it the second time around.

 2 months ago  

Uy nanuod ka rin pala!
Hahahaha muntik na rin ako makatulog! Nakkuha lang ulit yung atensyon ko kapag may kantahan na 😂

might be good to watch it the second time around.

True! Yung first time is to have fun, the second time, i-absorb ang plot 😆

Ehhhh, this looks fun. I'm also a fun of PNE too. I remember when they perform in Bansud, ang saya nang performance nila. I remember to na nagka crush ako kay Buwi coz he is so cool, playing, uwu. Isa ang Harana sa fav ko na kanta nila, pero pinakang is Buloy.

 2 months ago  

It was fun! Hahaha nag fangirling ka pala kay Buwi!
Nice din nga ang Buloy. The musical's take on Buloy was great. Akala ko nga hindi ma-iinclude dahil heavy ang topic.

Yesuu yesuuu, ang galing nya tas hot pa huhu. Pero wala na sha sa PNE no? Ay buti na include. Madaming may gusto sa kantang yan, isa na ko dun uwu

ang cool naman.

 2 months ago  

untitled.gif

Congratulations @cthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2024 Winners List